Skip to content

Giant Leap – Jiu-jitsu Comeback

February 3, 2010

Every great journey must begin with a simple step. This is mine. My Jiu-jitsu Comeback.

Here’s the superduperfabuloso news. At home yesterday, doing my rehab exercises, just for the heck of it, I thought what would happen if I tried to jump. Will I get hurt? Re-injured? Pull a muscle? Too much thinking! So I emptied my mind, wasn’t concerned about the act of jumping and just let my body go through the motions…

And I JUMPED!

For someone who has not done so in the past six months that’s HUGE! I’ll admit it’s been a long time coming; my flexibilty and range of motion and strength have taken off like a drag race in slow motion. I’m not really progressing in the manner I’d like to. Very unsadisfied. And, I won’t lie, my recovery pace has caused me to doubt my future in jiu-jitsu.

But that was until yesterday. Dang, wasn’t sure I could pull it off. I’ve been working on my explosive power. Usually I do 50 good old bodyweight squats, take a break and then afterwards do 20 more squats simulating the jumping motion without actually launching off the ground.

Yesterday, on the 20th count, I let loose and flew!

I may have gotten a good inch or two off the ground. Yeah, badness personified. I know I’m not ready to start really training – I have a check up on Thursday, I have a feeling they’ll say I’m close but no cigar – however I’m very, very happy to simply jump off the ground! I plan on doing more for sure!

Aww yeah! Watch out now!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 1:08 am

    Awesome! You’ll be back to slam-dunking in no time! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

