Skip to content

Time is King – Jiu-jitsu Comeback

March 19, 2010

Every great journey must begin with a simple step. This is mine. My Jiu-jitsu Comeback.

Went to Emoto Knee clinic yesterday for my latest knee check-up, which, at the time of writing, is a little under seven months post-op. Wow. Time flies.

Been doing a horrendous amount of rehab leading up to this check-up, part of the reason why I haven’t been updating this blog as much as I should have. Then again, there wasn’t much to write or update on.

The ridiculous rehab I’ve done paid off. Kinda.

My right leg is far stronger and more flexible than before (post-op wise). Case in point – my previous check-up I couldn’t do a one-legged stand up on the lowest box, which is a really deep knee bend squat. Plus I can do butterfly stretches with ease and sit in seiza (legs tucked under) for a bit. I’m comfortable for a couple of seconds then I’m really uncomfortable quick.

This time when I did a one-legged stand up on my right leg I stood up. Sure, I looked like a newborn baby calf struggling to stand – which my PT Aono-san didn’t like – but I stood up. Unfortunately I didn’t clear the test because I dropped my left foot to balance myself and I couldn’t do it again.

The Good News? The Chair confirmed that my right leg did indeed get stronger. Woohoo!

The Chair - proving how macho legs are since 2004

The Bad News? Both my legs got stronger. Wait, why is that bad? Allow me to clarify.

In order for both Emoto-sensei and Aono-san to be happy and send me off into Jiu-jitsu Training Land (or Doing Anykind of Sports Land for that matter) with any worry my right leg needs to be at a minimum strength level of 85%. My left leg is the unit of measure, but since both legs are getting stronger at the same time, getting to 85% will be harder and longer to reach. It’s not crap I’m never gonna be able to play sports bad, more like crap I’m not ready for sports yet FRUSTRATION!!!1! bad.

Officially, my right leg is now around 80%. I say around 80% because there are other aspects The Chair has pointed out on my right leg that aren’t just overall power and speed. It shows my leg at 78% in some places whereas other parts are at 82%. Strange, but The Chair doesn’t lie.

The cool news is I’m okay to go off and run and jump and do light weight training and do all kinds of exciting things that resemble doing sports BUT if I do sports my odds of re-tearing my ACL are still big at this time. Strange part two, Emoto-sensei wants me to do harder exercises and exercises related to Judo/Jiu-jitsu but hasn’t cleared me for going Jiu-jitsu crazy.

As such Aono-san said the equilant of “time heals all wounds” in Japanese. I caught it and understood, however he added a secondary comfort statement in English that I took as everything is all good, don’t rush it, and that I’m on track to making a great recovery.

He said, “Don’t worry, time is king!”

Indeed it is.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 11:48 pm

    time is king! that guy is right!
    slow and steady my friend.

  2. March 26, 2010 5:15 pm

    I’m happy for you.

  3. May 22, 2010 2:05 pm

    I hurt my knee at my Wausau Jui Jitsu academy a few years ago. I also did in my ankle. Take your time and rehab. Just work the main core moves and leave the twisting alone. Good luck.

  4. June 25, 2010 8:16 pm

    Injuries is the worst part of training. I heard one way to strengthen the knees is doing a lot of cycling but I guess we can not always avoid every injury that comes to get us, we can just try to avoid the ones that can be forseen.

  5. October 1, 2010 4:10 am

    Injuries come and go its part of life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

