Skip to content

Training Session – Tuesday, Dec 4th

December 4, 2007

What we did:

Ten min warm up. Light stretching.

Pre-training workout – done back and forth the width of my school’s Judojo.

  • Combos
  • Kicks
  • Muay Thai knees
  • Shots
  • Body drags
  • Shrimps
  • Crabs
  • Wheelbarrels

STAND UP – Strikes (from the left lead)

  • Jabs – 20 hits, break, 1 min alive drill (pad holder walks in and out of range at slow speed)
  • Jab/cross – 20 hits, break, 1 min alive drill
  • Roundhouse – 20 hits (kicking both right and left)
  • Jab/cross/roundhouse – 20 hits, break, 1 min alive drill 2x

GROUND WORK – Instructional

  • Guard pass/mount escape drill – increasing drill from dead to 80% resistance
  • Covered the fundamentals of a guard pass and taught three passes – single leg stack, knee over pass and single leg stack fake to knee over pass
  • Drilled armbars from the guard – basic and high guard armbars (dead drills only)
  • Guard pass/mount escape drill – goal based; top passes guard, bottom keeps top in guard or submits (80% resistance, 3 min)
  • Slow rolling w/me – 30% speed, 30% resistance 3 min

Thoughts on training:

I don’t know what my friends think about our training sessions. I don’t know if they’re really benefiting from it. I don’t know for sure if they are improving. And that weighs heavily on my mind as I’m the default coach. Sure we all have input as to what we want to train on, we all chip in on corrections and tips, and help each other out by pointing out mistakes and room for improvement, but I’m the go-to-guy as far as coaching goes.

Sure we only started three-four months ago. And only recently have we found the time to meet at least twice a week. Previous to that it was once a week or once every two weeks. So I should be easier on myself. But I’m not. I really want to make the most of our time and I really want to see my friends improve. In fact, I really enjoy watching other people do well. More so if I had a small role in helping them perform to the best of their ability.

But I digress…

If I had to comment on my friends’ training and their skills at this juncture, I would have to say that yes, they are improving but not at the rate I want them to be.

It all comes down to time. I wish we had more time to train. But that just means that I have to coach/run things more smoothly and effectively. Sigh.

As far as my training goes, I’m not going anywhere fast. When we first started, my punches were pretty dull, but now they’ve gotten crisp again. Unfortunately, my kicks were always sad and sloppy, and they still are. I have no idea how to figure out kicks. My friend taught me the fundamentals of a roundhouse, it hasn’t sunk in yet. And we train slowly as to work the body mechanics of the technique but I feel like I’m not picking up on it. Strangely enough, my left leg hits better than my right.

In terms of my jiu-jitsu; my open guard is still sloppy, I have no way of stopping a pass midway (worse yet I don’t even try), and I still need to work on my escapes. The only thing positive I suppose is that my conditioning improved – only a little bit. Before I’d get winded after rolling because my friends are bigger, stronger and heavier than me. Even though all I did after our stand up today was “slow roll” I went for 3 min with each guy. So I rolled lightly for 6 min with a little pause in the middle to change partners.

That’s so not impressive.

Thoughts on coaching:

Ah, here’s the rub; I think I tend to over explain things. I do get very wordy. Not only that I also trip over my words. And I over explain. See there I go again.

I should learn to simplify whatever it is I’m trying to show. And then afterwards give the technique the explaination it deserves. First K.I.S.S it then do a patrick and explain the heck out of it. I hope I remember that for next time.

BTW, Thursday is a follow up to this training session. On Thursday I’m planning on doing a quick review of everything we did so far, including today, and then doing various types of drilling – goal oriented, positional – all alive, all with rising levels of resistance until we get to full on sparring. Sounds like fun. I can’t wait!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

