Skip to content

Training Session – Dec 11th

December 11, 2007

What we did:

10 min warm up. Heavy stretching.

Pre-training workout – done back and forth the width of my school’s Judojo.

  • Shots
  • Shrimps
  • Forward rolls
  • Backward rolls
  • 4 point base – 30 sec drill
  • Sit outs – 30 sec drill
  • Stand up in base – 10 each side
  • Chest spinning drill

Groundwork – Techniques

  • Armbar counters – stack and block leg counters, alive drilling 3 sec escape, 2 sec escape, reg speed (full resistance)
  • Open guard drill – shrimping, knee through elbow, far leg blocks pass, replace guard – alive drilling (30% speed, reg speed)
  • Sweeps – hip, butterfly (I know, I know… this should have gone into Open guard drilling but I forgot to include it there) scissors and fake armbar to sweep
  • Gaining the back from turtle – dead drills 5 times, alive drills, 30% resistance – gain the back, prevent escape 5 times, 6th time full resistance to submission

Drills

  • From the guard – goal oriented – top passes; bottom submits, sweeps or prevents pass; gain side mount, reset – 3 min (switch top/bottom position afterwards)
  • And, of course, Sparring – full resistance – no time limit

Thoughts on Training:

First off I only trained one of my friends and he enjoys the ground game more than stand up. Hence all ground work. Through the session I kept giving him points on things he should work on and how to improve his base. Which he applied during our sparring. He asked a few detail questions that stumped me and I admited that I wasn’t sure. But we worked on it and came through with a decent answer.

The question he asked was about gaining the back from the turtle position. Never occured to me before. I knew getting the hooks in were important and key in maintaining the back, but the question was more along the lines of ‘where are your hands grabbing?’ and ‘hooks or hands first?’ I really didn’t know. So I told him what I thought was important (getting your hooks in) and he dictates when he could put them in (from the turtle, rolling and then pulling your opponent onto you to gain the back then securing the hooks). Of course the sooner the better.

We worked on it (meaning I tried to gain his back from the turtle to figure out the order of things), then we both did a few alive drills with it and it worked out okay. Hands for control, hooks to secure. When we sparred he got my back, put me in a body triangle and rear naked choked me. Lots of fun! And one of the benefits of this is that I’m seriously going to include positional escape drills for next time – starting with the rear mount.

And it’s cool that I didn’t know the answer right away. It shows that I have so much more to learn and I like that. Sure I felt like I was letting my friend down and I had to think about it, subtract the gi element from what I really know (cause we train no-gi), and then come up with an answer that addressed the fundamentals rather than specifics. But hey, we’re both learning and still students of the game.

Oh, and I only tapped out six times. Nowhere near my goal of 15.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

