Skip to content

New Year’s Resolutions

January 7, 2008
tags:

Happy New Year everyone!

I’ve been busy doing other things aside from training and working out.
My brother and a good friend of mine came over from Hawaii so I went on up and hung out with them in Tokyo.

Me in Tokyo.

Later my brother came down to my part of Japan and spent new years here. It was loads of fun and I miss my brother and my friend. Of course they’re heading/are back home to enjoy warmer climates. I’m staying here where it’s cold – though not as cold as say… Canada (shout out to my Canadian friends).

Some cool things about this year’s Japanese New Year…

Got to see MMA fights (K-1 Dynamite! and UFC 79).
Got to see Fedor beat Hong Man with a clean armbar from the guard.
Got to see GSP dominate Hughes and win with an armbar from a kimura attempt (a bit sad, I like Hughes but can’t dispute the force that is GSP now)

And got to see snow on New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day (I’m from Hawaii, I’m a sucker for snow)
See? Japanese snowman.


So, yeah, my New Year’s was pretty happy.

Here are my resolutions:

  • Improve my conditioning (for example – be able do 5 circuits of the Sequential Fatigue Challenge in 10 min or under)
  • Enter a BJJ/grappling tournament here in Japan
  • Get the above two resolutions on video and post it
  • Improve my stand-up (want to use strikes to set up takedowns both in and out of the clinch)
  • Improve my open guard
  • Improve my side mount
  • Post pictures and vids online
  • Post more – period

Here’s to keeping and fulfilling our resolutions!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

