Skip to content

Sunday, Sunday, Sunday!

February 13, 2008

I was going to write about yesterday’s training session and about training with the gi again and, more importantly, about drilling escapes from worst-case scenarios. But I’d rather talk about Sunday.

Sunday, March 9th 2008 to be precise.

On that particular day is the 2008 Newaza World BJJ Open Tournament. And I’ve always wanted to enter a competition here in Japan after I re-started training jiu-jitsu last year. I don’t know if I’m ready for a tournament now. Don’t know if I can get ready that quickly. I’m okay, but nowhere near where I want to be. My conditioning suits me well when I’m not pressed for time or down on points and I can take a break at any point when we spar so I can go drink water then come back a spar again. And I haven’t even trained all that much with the gi either. If I do enter I’ll be with other blue belts who do nothing but the gi. And my gi submission defense is pretty rusty at best.

I want to enter. Wait, scratch that. I will enter. Yikes, I’m getting all butterflies just thinking about it.

A big shout out to Matt at Martial Farts – fellow Brazilian Jiu-jitsu practitioner, Kyushu resident and author of the most entertaining MMA/BJJ blog out there. I highly recommend reading it, you will not be disappointed.

My thanks to you, Matt! Where would we be without a venue as vast as the internet to share our thoughts and experiences with others? It’s incredible, really, that the results of such a simple act can be a momentous.

Let’s roll.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt permalink
    February 13, 2008 10:02 pm

    Hey! Awesome! Thanks for the shout out. Really glad to hear you enjoy my blog, please keep reading. I’m looking forward to reading yours, too. Isn’t the internet just a super place? Now enough of this niceness. I’m going to go and pick my nose and wipe it on someone’s face.

    I’m getting cold feet about the tourney, this stomach bug has totally interrupted my rythm, big time.

    Did you know there is a Paraestra Kumamoto? I don’t know how close you are, but it comes highly recommended! What team do you train with, anyway?

    http://fine.ap.teacup.com/parakuma/

    http://parakuma.com/

  2. パト permalink
    February 15, 2008 11:23 am

    Hey Matt! I will absolutely keep reading! When I have time to kill at work I usually sneak a peek at your blog, which gets me more attention than needed as I end up laughing out loud then fake coughing to cover up the laughter.

    No cold feet! Kinda hard with it being winter and all, but the effort we put into it – training, competing – really pays off at the end. Even if we get submitted countless of times.

    I didn’t know there was a Paraestra Kumamoto. I tried going to the one in Hakata, it’s just too far away (2 hours). I’d love to come over and check it out.

    No team right now. I’m training with just two other guys on a weekly basis and when time permits I’ll head over to Fukuoka city to roll with friends there. I really need an official place though.

    I’ll keep in touch and try to head over to Paraestra next week/weekend.

  3. tecnica permalink
    April 4, 2010 6:30 pm

    Hey Patrick,

    Came across your blog site…awesome. I was searching for BJJ schools in Kumamoto as I will most likely be there in late sept./early oct. just for a few weeks but wouldn’t mind getting a few roll sessions in.

    Do you know if there is a BJJ school in Kumamoto? I would greatly appreciate it if you could let me know if there is a school.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

