Skip to content

bad news, good news

February 16, 2008

Bad News

I was going over the application form for the Newaza World competition and spotted something I wasn’t sure of. Had it double-checked by my girlfriend and she confirmed it.

I won’t be entering the competition, because I don’t have a Japanese Brazilian Jiu-jitsu Association ID card. The only way I can obtain an ID card is if I am training in an academy that is registered within the Association. And I am not training in any BJJ academy – period.

It goes without saying but I’ll say it anyway; I am extremely frustrated right now. This amplified by years of staying on the sidelines while friends back home, and even friends here in Fukuoka who live near the city, receive promotions. My goal of attaining my purple belt is that much more farther away. Serves me right for not getting serious earlier during my stay here in Japan.

I suppose that’s a good thing, the Japanese BJJ Association, that way nobody can make any old crap tournament where anybody and their drunk uncle can enter. And it’d be officially recoqnized obviously. But whatever.

Good News

I finally know where a tournament is being held and I’m going to watch it. A real honest to goodness Brazilian Jiu-jitsu competition. You can bet your ass I’m gonna be there and show support.

And I finally know of another academy on Kyushu besides the ones in Fukuoka city. I’m going to check it out either this Sunday or Friday, probably Friday. But it’s still far away from me though.

How far away is it?

View Larger Map

I’m the purple tack. I hate living in my town.

I could go on and on about how crappy my situation is but it’s not really all that bad. I’m sharing the joy of my art with my friends by training with them. I have a positive online jiu-jitsu community that is highly inspirational and encouraging. I shouldn’t even care about a belt either, because it’s just a belt.

It’s what the belt represents that really matters. Hopefully, when the time comes and I’m promoted, I’ll look back at this moment in time and smile, how I learned and grew from it, and how this made me that much more better, that much more appreciative of what I have and not what I want.

But for now, it just sucks.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt permalink
    February 17, 2008 9:37 am

    Ah shit dude! I just remembered this last night and came online to let you know.

    That’s a shame. Still, you can go and check it out… Where are you located again? I’m sure there is a school near you… You’d be surprised where they are nestled, without any real advertising to know where they are… I can ask at my academy for you.

    As for me, I don’t think I’ll be going… I’ve been really ill lately and it will have taken a full two weeks out of my preparation, so I don’t think I’ll be as strong as I could be. There’s another comp in April I think, I’ll post the details when I know.

    I never thought to post competition details up in advance in my blog… I never thought anyone would have the use for it. But I guess I will from now on!

    Hope to bump in to you at a comp in future. What weight are you? I compete at the “pena” class (up to 70kilo with the gi.)

  2. patrick permalink
    February 18, 2008 1:54 pm

    I’m still planning on going and checking it out. I also want to go over to Kumamoto and take a look at the academy there. I’m sure just even sitting around in that environment will be encouraging. I’d love all the help I can get.

    I’m in Kurogi-machi Yame-gun. Kurume is the largest city that’s closest to me. I went to a dojo there that was a mixed martial arts place (they had sambo and BJJ) but their main thing was full contact karate.

    For sure. Same here, in fact I hope we run into each other before then. I’m a good ten kilos lighter than you. My cruising weight is 60-61.

Leave a Reply

