Skip to content

random thoughts

March 2, 2008

There was a new Big Boy’s Restaurant that opened resently. So I went to check it out.

Today’s lunch:

Sirloin steak – 200g – with two bite sized potatoes, a tiny group of broccoli spears and a slice of carrot
1st salad – greens, two cherry tomatoes with Italian dressing
2nd salad – potato salad and egg/pasta salad on a bed of spinach
Sesame roll and wheat roll – ate it with two pads of margarine
Coke-cola – 2 glasses
Oolong tea – 1 glass
Water – 1 glass

Because of that I feel like I need to go to Aquamates (name of my town’s gym), which I haven’t gone to for a painfully long time now. But here’s my tenative workout:

Swimming – until whenever I get tried
10 three-one-half push ups – 3 sets
10 dips – 3 sets
20 crunches – 3 sets
20 upas – 3 sets
20 body squats – 3 sets
20 burpees – 3 sets

I don’t think I’ll be able to swim for very long or crank out the burpees. It’s been a long time since I’ve done either of them. Speaking of a long time…

I watched LOST last night. This week’s LOST dealt with Desmond and the love of his life Penny. In the episode Desmond tells Penny to wait for a phone call from him in 8 years time. Now 8 years is a pretty long time to wait. Then it hit me. 8 years ago I started Jiu-jitsu.

8 years and still a blue belt.

I started when I was 24 years old. I’m 32 now. I will be 33 come April.

I’m not sure what level of suckage that is but that’s pretty bad.

Sure, I could use the excuse of being really far away from any academy but if I was really serious about it, really fucking serious about jiu-jitsu, I would have thought nothing more about the distance and just go. Anywhere. And just train. But nope.

And then there’s my size. 168 cm tall. 60 kg heavy. Everybody in jiu-jitsu is bigger than me. I’m training with two guys bigger, heavier, stronger than me. I’m the “blue belt” and in a typical sparring session they get two to three submissions on me compared to my one or two submission attempts. Here I go again, complaining about my size vs everyone in gi rolling on the ground, except for kids. Kids are tiny.

Jeez… whining about it on a computer. Posting it up for all to see. Sad really.

But that’s about it.

I’m going to workout now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

