Skip to content

UFC 82 – Silva vs Henderson

March 2, 2008

Holy crap!

Yeah, that’s the first thing I thought when I found out that Anderson Silva and Dan Henderson were fighting. That and why can’t I watch it on something bigger than my tiny 30 cm Japanese laptop screen. Beggers can’t be choosers.

Anyway, I just finished watching the match and pretty much the same thought that first came to mind was the same thought that ran through my brain for the entire match.

Holy crap!

I was not brave enough to chose who would win or make a prediction and post it online. That’s cause I ALWAYS get my picks wrong. (Uh-oh, I posted that BJ Penn was going to win the Penn vs Sherk fight…) And sure enough come time for the fight, I was rooting for Dan.

These two were too evenly matched. It was a crazy match up, one of the finest I have seen to date. I wish I had seen this match with friends cause I would have done that cliché bit of the spectator grabbing whoever was nearby around the neck and shoving them back and forth in slow motion while spilling beer. It was that crazy. When Henderson took Silva to the ground in the first round, I really wish I had someone else in the room so I could do that neck thing.

But my hopes and dreams of Henderson holding the unified championship were dashed in the second round. Henderson who I cheered for, who I’ve known from watching him here in Japan because of Pride, ended up on the ground – not in his favor or in a manner of his choosing, gave up his back, got secured in a body triangle and submitted via a rear naked choke.

That damn body triangle.

I always get caught in it whenever I give up my back. And only recently have I found a way deal with the body triangle provided, first and foremost, I protect my neck. So I was shouting at my computer at a match that was already over by the time I was watching it right as Silva’s foot found its place begin the left knee. Most of it was me saying “NO!” and then a string of profanities directed at the body triangle.

But at the end of the match I had to give credit to Silva. Anyone who gains the back had better damn well work for a rear naked choke. And on that note anyone who gives up their back is asking to get choked out. I know, I’ve been there and it sucks. Anyone who gains the back and not work for a rear naked choke… is probably working for something else.

But if the choke is there then go for it. My jiu-jitsu tip of the day.

I don’t know what’s next for Henderson. I still believe he is a strong presence and threat in the UFC. I’m sure he’ll be back better than ever. He gave Silva a run for his money, this is not the last we’ve seen of Henderson.

As for Silva, I wonder who’s gonna stop him? Guess we’ll wait and see.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

