Skip to content

Newaza World BJJ Open Tournament 2008

March 9, 2008

Here are some pictures from the Newaza World BJJ Open Tournament that was held today in Oita city.

The venue – Oita prefecture something general something hall.

How could you miss a sign THAT big?
Oh wait, I guess if you couldn’t read katakana and kanji then you’d miss it.

So fresh and so clean, clean. Wish we had halls like this back home.

Two blue belts battle it out.

And the winner is…

Observations and personal comments on the tournament:

This is the first time I’ve been to a tournament in Japan and was pleasantly surprised to find out they politely clap for the winner of the match. Felt like a golf tournament. Everyone’s so quiet then a short soft burst of applause at the end. I liked it. Back home, people yell and shout at the athletes, cheering them on or coaching them from the sidelines.

Actually, that started to happen after lunch break. It was then my girl sort of understood what was going on a lot more. Always helps to have other people back up what you’re trying to explain.

Wish I was a kid again. Their competitiveness seems to be who can have the most fun while rolling. I mean, after the kids’ matches were done, both winners and losers played with each other as usual, just as they did before their matches.

When did I start caring about promotions and not about having fun? Well, hopefully I changed that mindset already.

There was only one women’s match. My girl seemed interested as we watched it. I’d love it if she started practicing Jiu-jitsu.

The craziest match I saw was between two blue belts who were going non-stop. An amazing display of athleticism, technique and fighting spirit. Both gained takedowns, both got submission attempts, both did techniques on demand when their corner shouted instructions at them. It was surreal. Like a live action video game. Wish I had that one on video.

It was good to see live matches again. I had the urge to jump on the mats and ask if anyone wanted to practice on me. Or attack some random guy in a gi. But I think if I did that my girl would have left the building without telling me, she did have the key to my car, that and I would have gotten my ass kicked.

Oh, and the funniest match I saw was between two white belts. Ah, white belts, endless sources of entertainment. Another one I wish I had that one on video. One guy started the match in gorilla mode, he kept his arms down and low, almost touching the mats. The other guy did a shoryuken (I’m not kidding) and upon landing did a superman punch to the gorilla guy. Ryu (cause shoryuken boy had a white gi on) was warned by the ref. When they did tie up, they spent the whole time attempting takedowns, leaving about a minute for ground work. The winner of that match: Ryu on points.

Let’s have fun and keep training.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    March 10, 2008 10:47 pm

    Wicked! Two guys from my dojo got medals. Blue belt galo and white belt heavy, and absolute, i think… not many people made it out there. We will be out in force (I hope) at the Copa South, in Kitakyushu, in MAy. Love for you to come, I’ll definitely roll with you!

    IT depends who’s fighting as to how much noise the crowd makes. Generally they get louder as the day goes on. I’ve had acouple of quiet matches and some deafening ones, which feel great.

    I’m back in training and feeling good, so I’m looking forward to May.

  2. Matt permalink
    March 10, 2008 10:48 pm

    That’s matt from Martial Farts by the way!

  3. patrick permalink
    March 10, 2008 11:01 pm

    Hey Matt!

    Yeah, the competition was a blast. I had lots of fun just watching and explaining stuff to my girlfriend. Some of the guys in the gis were wondering about me being so vocal about the matches in my mixture of English/Japanese.

    I loved it when everyone started shouting!

    Congrats on your fellow jiu-jitsu mates winning medals.

    Deal! If you’re there at Copa South, I’ll be there.

    Take care and keep on training!

Trackbacks

  1. Newaza World Tournament - March 2009 « Murasaki BJJ

Leave a Reply

