Skip to content

Going back to Kashi

April 5, 2008

Super last minute but heading up to Fukuma to meet up with my friend Jon for MMA training in Kashi tomorrow. The last time I trained with Jon was four months ago. My how time flies. I wrote about that here and posted a video of one of my sparring matches here.

Jon has been out of training for awhile (broke his hand) and I’ve been neglecting my striking, so we’re just gonna focus on groundwork. And maybe hit some pads. No stand up sparring for Jon. I might fancy getting my ass kicked for a few rounds.

I’m really curious to see what I’ve improved on since last time. My conditioning was crappy. Got tapped out by a bigger guy who did amateur shooto. Let everyone attempt a leg submission on me but no one finished though thank God.

But I haven’t been working on submissions at all since then apart from an ankle lock from time to time.  Majority of my training has been more along the lines of sweeps, escapes, half-guard and takedowns. I’m assuming my conditioning is better than last time, but then again, going non-stop, hard sparring for an hour or more is something I haven’t done lately.

The only improvement I can see is probably my top game. I stay in side mount longer than I used to.  Like a second longer, so now it’s six seconds.   Yeah, baby.

I’m going to be in for a pleasant surprise either way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2008 10:41 pm

    I’ve got to get there and train with Jon at some point…

  2. April 9, 2008 1:02 pm

    Yeah, Jon’s always down for training.

Leave a Reply

