Skip to content

Workout Routine – April 26th

April 26, 2008

Today’s workout routine was brought to you by Ross Enamait’s Sequential Fatigue Challenge. Ross Enamait, ladies and gentlemen! Walking the walk, and bridging the gap between ordinary and extraordinary!

It was a fine spring day in Kurogi. I woke up bright and early at six o’clock in the morning with no aid from my alarm clock due to falling asleep yesterday at the unheard of time of ten in the evening. My work schedule that day was hardly tiresome, I taught only one class, but the warm tempurature must have gotten the best of me and led me to sleep as though I was a young lad again.

With my kitchen and “living room” clean and my clothes hung out to dry I made my way to the elementary school here in town a little pass eleven o’clock. After a busy and productive first half of the day, I was looking forward to some good old fashioned exercise to clear the mind and open up the senses. There, at the school grounds, I was greeted enthusiastically by Takahiro-kun who wanted nothing more than to play a game of catch with me.

So I humoured him and played a good round of catch for 20 minutes until Hara-kun and Ide-kun showed up as well. I thought, “Ah, with two other boys here I have a chance opportunity to break off from this game of one-way baseball and continue with my goal of physical fitness!” I excused myself and told Takahiro-kun that I had plans to exercise, and now that his friends arrived that he should play with them. He found my decision distasteful and began to throw an unsightly, and very anti-Japanese like, temper tantrum. I comforted him and told him upon completing my task I would be more than happy to continue with our game. Unfortunately, the three boys had other plans.

When I began the Sequential Fatigue Challenge, all three boys decided in their best interests to tag along, provide themselves as obstacles when I ran and leapt on my back whenever I did push ups as though the Sequential Fatigue Challenge wasn’t challenging enough.

And upon completing three sets of each sequence my time was a disheartening 9 minutes and 14 seconds. Sigh. I cannot blame those wonderful and delightful children, whom afterwards I returned to play a make shift game of four-man baseball. The fault lies entirely with me.

I should have drop kicked them when I had the chance.

Till next time dear readers…

(apologies for the dose of cheese, I was bored)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2008 12:31 am

    I discovered the “joys” of the sequential fatigue challenge during my preparations for a recent Judo tournament.
    I also spent a bit of time on his Magic 50, which earned me quite a few bemused and concerned looks in the gym.

    Ross’ stuff is great.

  2. May 9, 2008 11:17 am

    Hey David,

    Yeah, Ross is awesome. Always inspirational.

    I’ve also tried out some tabata intervals a while back when I read up on them on his site. Those are great. I need to remember to do those again.

    And I’ve always wanted to pick up all his books too, but unfortunately my credit cards are safely tucked away back home in Hawaii and I’ve thankfully forgotten the numbers on their shiney plastic faces.

    So in the meantime I can best support him by trying out his exercises and sending people his way.

Leave a Reply

