Skip to content

Workout and Training – May 12th, 13th

May 13, 2008

And some exciting news! Sort of. For me anyway.

On Monday did a short round of Tabata intervals – situps and bridges – after school. And throughout the day I managed to squeeze out 8 one-arm pushups and leg pistols. I think that’s called “greasing the engine”. It’s a bodybuilding concept.

Oh, since my school is preparing for a sports day on May 25th, I also took part in their preparations on Monday – like 30 man jump rope practice, three legged racing, painting parts of the back panels for each team, and watching in horror as my students imitate hip hop backup dancers when they rehearse their cheer-girl routines.

Ahem, moving on.

Today our training session was light.  Here’s what we did:

  • Reviewed sweeps and escapes from side control
  • Drilled triangle from the guard, triangle step over defense and chaining the triangle to an armbar
  • Open sparring – 10 min round – 5 min roll for position, 5 min roll for submission, full resistance – 30 min
  • Open mat – rolled with everyone twice, submissions okay

Notes on sparring
My game plan today stalled, so I decided to do just that – stall. I did that very well. Didn’t go for sweeps or submissions. Didn’t even try for the back. I just stayed in butterfly guard. Shrimped a lot, made Esteban and Brent kinda frustrated.

Not sure why but I was content to just do nothing. Maybe its because when I decided to put some effort in sparring I tweaked my knee and wrist (they went bendy in the wrong way) and smashed my lip pretty bad (but I was wearing my mouthpiece, could have been worse) so I played it safe. Or maybe it’s because I wasn’t focused today. Maybe I was too focused on the news.

What is it? Well, Brent caught wind of a couple of guys (eight of them) who train Jiu-jitsu in Kurume, which is really close to where I live. Like 50 minutes away. Anyway, it’s a club not an official school, and the guy who “teaches” just went to Hawaii and cleaned up his division. Brent actually rolled with them on Monday, and it’s exactly what I’ve been looking for.

White and blue belts, gi work, a little bit of Shooto on the side. Aww yeah…

I’m going tomorrow to see how they are. If they’re like any of the other Japanese grapplers/practitioners I’ve rolled withthey are going to be tough. I think I’m definitely going to get schooled. I haven’t trained with the gi for a looooong time so I’m expecting to get caught in a ton of collar chokes.

And they’re all entering the Kyushu Open to boot. I’m excited about that, cause maybe I’ll be able to enter the competion too, have them sign me up. Yea. But we’ll see how that goes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2008 9:38 pm

    Wicked! That’s good news. I want photos and videos! Let us know how it went… And tell me their weakness, for the Kyushu Open muahahaha…
    If I foot gets better that is…

  2. May 15, 2008 11:23 pm

    What? And put my new found teammates at a disadvantage? For shame! I shall do no such thing! You’ll get no tips from me, dear sir!

    Now if I happen to just write about my rolling experience and post my observations on certain people… well now that can’t be helped now can it… 😉

    And I would have gotten video but my camera died.

Leave a Reply

