Skip to content

silly me

May 27, 2008

Guess what I did?

I cut my hair!

Not because of the upcoming tourney. Oh no. Something far more serious than that. It’s for the upcoming summer. Japan’s humid in the summertime. Every year since my first year here I’ve sported the bouzu look – short hair like a priest or monk. Also another reason for someone to have short hair – mostly among young boys – is that it’s a type of punishment.

Of course, really short hair signifies commitment to a club, like a baseball team or the school kendo club. My male students in baseball and kendo have this style of haircut. But for some strange reason everyone either gave me an “are you becoming a priest?” or “did you do something bad?” question whenever they saw me.

I also have a picture of me after race on my school’s sports day where I had to do seven dizzy bat spins, ride a tricycle and find a piece of candy in a pan of white flour. All in a day’s work.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2008 9:35 pm

    Awesome… I wanted to go to one of my schools sports day, but they only half invited me in a half arsed way so I figured I would skip it. Pain in the butt on stilts anyway.

    I shave my hair sometimes… it’s a good idea. After the stinking hot day I had today I’m considering it again… It suits you!

  2. May 29, 2008 9:44 am

    It kinda helps that I’m pretty much stuck at my school. Good and bad points.

    Thanks, but I think anyone with a round noggin can get away with a shaved head… compared to the shape of the heads here in Japan. I’ve seen more than my share of weird shapes.

Leave a Reply

