Skip to content

Teppo Ebi – May 26th

May 27, 2008

I rolled for 6 three minute rounds yesterday. Half gi, half no-gi. I was spent by the third round, so by the time I did no-gi I was tapping out left and right. I could feel the submissions coming but I couldn’t defend in time or fight back just enough where I could escape.

I’ve been wanting to do more conditioning workouts aside from sparring, but I never found the time during this past weekend. I’ll definitely try to do at least two this week.

Also I’ve noticed that during my scrambles there’s an always an opportunity to slap on guillotines, which I’ve been doing. The only thing is that I’m not very good at them nor am I very quick at slapping them on so I’ve never finished a guillotine. Not yet. Same goes for rear naked chokes.

Usual plan of action. Improve conditioning and strength endurance and timing. More drills.

Don’t know if I can effectively improve myself physically and skillwise with the short amount of time I have until the tournament. But I’m going to do the best I can to bridge the gap in my performance and see where I stand.

I’ll have quicker submissions. I’ll be stronger. I’ll perform just as hard for the entire match, all my matches, even when I’m fatiqued.

26 more days to the Kyushu Open!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2008 10:34 pm

    Dude, I’d step up from the 3 mins sparring rounds to the full 6 mins if I were you or you are going to be in for a shock at the comp… or are you having no break in between? If so, impressive, and I shut my mouth…

  2. May 29, 2008 9:54 am

    No breaks in between. But still pretty crappy. One guy entering the tourney went non-stop for about an hour. And he’s in my weight class!!! Yikes!!!

    And after taking a looong break rolled with a “newbie” white belt and did some stand up with him too. More training for him really. Unlike the other blues, I actually let him finish a few submissions on me.

    But thanks for the advice! I’ll definitely step it up to 6 minutes.

Leave a Reply

