Skip to content

Kyushu Open is TOMORROW!

June 21, 2008

Here’s what I did this past week in preparation for the Kyushu Open. Which is tomorrow if you didn’t know.

Monday
Did some light rolling at Teppo Ebi.

Did my fair share of tapping as well as tapping people out, going one for one each time I got tapped. That I was surprised at because I wasn’t even pursuing submissions, I wanted to work on my positions really and not getting caught. I just saw openings and thought, “hey, there’s a submission there” and went for it and it worked.

Tuesday
Did 3 sets of the Sequential Fatigue Challenge, then rode my bicycle couple times around town.

Wednesday
10 push up burpees
20 bicycle crunches
1 min bridge
60 situps

Thursday
Reviewed all passes, sweeps and escapes.

Drilled with light to medium resistance. The light resistance drills were Call Out drills, a pass, sweep or escape was called out and I performed it. The medium resistance drills were Objective drills – for example, drilling for passes my goal was to pass ten times and could use any technique I wanted to. I tried to do all of the passes, but most of the time they were just faints to another pass.

Friday
Made up a playlist to listen to before my match.

Seven Light Years – RJD2
Summertime – Sublime
Climbing the Walls – Easy Star All Stars
Small Axe – Bob Marley
Let Down – Easy Star All Stars
Reckoner – Radiohead
Comfort Eagle – Cake
Make You Feel Better – Red Hot Chili Peppers
Incorporate Anthem – RJD2
Alive – Daft Punk
Blackout – Asian Kung Fu Generation
Hypnotize – System of a Down
Ah, Singapore – Shonen Knife
Walk – Blind Melon

Made the list thinking “what would I like to listen to when I’m rolling?” Nothing too crazy. A lot of chill, fun stuff. A couple artists that I’d like to point out and recommend are RJD2 and Easy Star All Stars. RJD2 makes really great instrumentals, but is more prone to have singers or hip-hop artists cloud it up. Here’s my first track from RJD2.

If you’re a fan of reggae and Radiohead, get the album “Radiodread” by Easy Star All Stars. They also did a cover album of Pink Floyd entitled “The Dub Side of the Moon”. Really good stuff. Here’s “Let Down”.

Today
I’m relaxing.

Going to eat ramen at my favorite shop (which is closing at the end of the month) then off to watch “Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull”. Maybe.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 22, 2008 11:33 am

    Good luck! Hope you kick some ass!

    You know, in a peaceful, noncompetitive Zen kinda way.

Leave a Reply

