Skip to content

me on film

June 24, 2008

Video clip of my match in the no-gi Kyushu Open. 

Single collar single leg takedown.

Look! Trying to attempt an arm triangle. My body positioning is all wrong.

Look! I gain the back and cross my feet. That’s a no-no.

Look! I mount and don’t “swim through”. It gets me swept.

Hip sweep to mount to sleeve choke. Enjoy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2008 5:59 pm

    Nice. That was a damn fast sleeve choke.

  2. June 25, 2008 9:29 pm

    Good work man. You know how to finish the arm triangle, right? I think it works well if your body is flat on the ground. You can hold your own head, rather than try to thread the arm like a choke. But listen to me… you’d probably kick my ass! Nice fight.

  3. June 25, 2008 10:35 pm

    I think I just realised watching the DVD of the competition that my friend made that our ace went up against your ace in the no-gi. Is that right? You were taking a lot of pictures and looking on with a conerned face… It looked like a really close fight and your guy was tough.

    But I don’t think anything could have stopped Iwakiri-san that day… except of course a sandbagging purple belt in the absolute division…

    Our guy was promoted to purple after Sunday.

  4. June 25, 2008 10:36 pm

    @Rob
    Yeah, that choke surprised me too.

    @Matt
    Yeah, in the heat of the moment, all technique just kinda goes out the window. And congrats to your guy getting his promotion! Oh, okay, so that was all that talk about someone getting purple at Teppo Ebi on Monday. He totally deserves it, made our ace look like a two of clubs. I knew right away he was badass.

    Hope that 4stripe blue moves on up too… damn, sandbagger.

Trackbacks

  1. Road to the Kyushu Open - Motivation « Murasaki BJJ

Leave a Reply

