Skip to content

away notice

July 23, 2008

Greetings!

This post really isn’t all that interesting or linky (I lied, it gets linky at the bottom of the post). Nor does it have anything to do with Brazilian Jiu-jitsu. Or martial arts for that matter.

It’s to serve notice that this blog will be inactive for sometime (two weeks at the most) as I will be moving. In fact, I’m losing my internet connection for my apartment from tomorrow (goodbye yahooBB). Sigh. What shall I ever do without the internet?

If things go well I’ll be moving to Chikushino city, which huge for me. Right now I live in the middle of rice patties and annoying frogs that croak at all hours of the night. And the only thing open pass 9 PM is the local 7-11 (there’s only one) and Snack bars. I will miss my little town of Kurogi, no doubt about that.

Chikushino is much more urbanized (if that’s a real word) with Starbucks (gah), tons and tons of stores and resturants, a couple malls (with another on the way), both major train lines in Kyushu (JR and Nishitetsu lines) going through it, and it’s super close to the Kyushu National Museum and the nationally famous Dazaifu Tenmangu shrine.

It also means I’ll be closer to the big city – Fukuoka (woohoo!) – which would make me a bit closer to this guy and A LOT closer to this guy! Which means all sorts of things, especially in the training department. Yea me!

Then I go back to Hawaii next month to see family and friends, and, of course, more training. Since I’ll be on vacation I’m hoping to log in as much mat time as humanly possible. I have a lot of friends looking forward to seeing, partying, rolling and sparring with me. I’m the exact opposite, they’re all purples and one recently got his brown. That’s tap city for me. It’ll be a nice reminder of how much I haven’t grown skillwise.

And, of course, once I get settled I’ll get right back on the posting ball.

So if you’re new to this blog and have a need for entertaining reads, go here, here or here in the meantime. Or go visit my links. They’re all cool.

If you’re an old hat to this blog, hang in there, I’ll be back.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2008 9:24 am

    Good luck w/the move. I’m slowly trying to work myself past some injuries and get back into some kind of “not a total lard-ass” fighting trim, but hopefully we’ll get some training in at some point.

    I’m sure Jon would dig working out. He definitely needs somebody to teach him something other than power “big guy” jits.

    Oddly enough, I did a family trip with the wife and Grandma to the National Museum just last weekend.

  2. July 24, 2008 11:02 pm

    Excellent dude! Looking forward to having you closer.
    You’ll be surprised when you go back home how much the average person in your dojo is bigger and stronger. I’m not generalising, it happened from personal experience… at my club there are only a few people heavier than me and you get used to rolling with people smaller or the same weight… back home, almost everyone is bigger which leads to much crushing and crunching.
    Have a safe trip and give us a ring when you get back and let me know when you will be hitting our mats!

Leave a Reply

