Skip to content

Teppo Ebi – August Edition

August 26, 2008

Commentary on my four weeks of training in August as I only went to jiu-jitsu on Mondays.

First Session Back – August 4
What I did badly: poor posture, slow reaction and timing, got caught in everything, it was a tap tap tap-tippy tap city for me
What I did right: tied my belt on correctly, it didn’t get loose afterward

Second Session – August 11
What I did badly: gave up my back and got caught in a couple triangles
What I did right: after tapping several times to Shimosako-san I actually passed his guard

Third Session – August 18
What I did badly: I didn’t drill anything, gave up my back
What I did right: Completed six rounds of sparring and I never got caught

Last Teppo Ebi session of the month – August 25
Brought along my friend Carl for this past session. It was his first roll from a long long jiu-jitsu pause. It was great to have him there and introduce him to the guys.

What I did badly: gave up my back, did a triangle escape incorrectly
What I did right: held side control after passing guard for longer than usual (one sparring session I held it for the entire round after passing – really big deal for me)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2008 9:51 pm

    Carl is back huh? Cool!
    When you get back into a ryhthm is it back to normal training?
    Will you be doing the next all-Kyushu, in Kasuya again, in November?

  2. August 27, 2008 2:22 pm

    Yes, yes and yes. 🙂

    Plus I might be making the trek up to Paraestra towards the end of the month. Need to get paid first.

  3. September 3, 2008 7:09 am

    Guess, you have your internet connection back, that’s good

    Just wanted to let you know that I like the format that you use on this post and on “Training Post YES!”. Clear, concise, I like it

    ..and good luck!

  4. September 4, 2008 2:59 pm

    Thanks, I’ll try to use this format more often. I like it too.

    Usually, my training partners (and myself from time to time) will say, “I suck at that, I suck at this” while never looking at the positive aspects of their game. That’s where I put in my two cents.

    We’ve all got good and bad aspects of our game. Hopefully we sharpen all our good skills and work on diminishing or improving our bad ones.

Leave a Reply

