Skip to content

Paraestra – Sept 16th

September 17, 2008

I ventured into Paraestra Hakata with my friend Carl for what I hope will be the first of many. It was not a large as I believed it to be, with the space having to be shared with Shooto fighters. But I liked the relaxed vibe of the school, especially with music playing in the background.

Plus there’s nothing like rolling with a purple belt and internationally published writer, proud papa, hilariously funny blogger and all-around great guy, Matt of Martial Farts with a slight migraine to make me feel somewhat comfortable with my skill level yet at the same like I’m blah blaaw beeeh.

I’m going to do something a bit different and write my observations on a sparring match between Matt and Carl.

before
Before

Thoughts on Carl
What he didn’t do correctly – didn’t use much of his hips for movement, didn’t use his weight to his advantage, over-agressive at times, passive at others
What he did right – he pressed the action and pace of the match
Observations – Carl is in a bit of a predicament. He’s limiting himself whenever he rolls, not using his strength to his advantage, which is admirable. Not many jiu-jitsu practitioners can do that. But because of that he’s not seeing his growth. (That’s what smaller practitioners run into) And when Carl limits himself he also limits his other physical qualities like his speed or his weight or his hip movements. They are all separate elements and hopefully when he figures out that he can still use all his physical attributes without relying on strength then he’ll see his potential.

Thoughts on Matt
What he didn’t do correctly – fought Carl in a “knackered” state
What he did right – countered perfectly, got the mount and the back
Observations – I was very impressed with Matt’s skill (both from the sidelines and rolling with him). He had to play catch up to the pace and still managed to overwhelm Carl. Matt also did a lot of things (like sweep and submit) that I would never be able to do against someone of Carl’s size.

after
After

By the way, I got tapped out and swept by both Paraestra’s newly minted purple belt Iwaki-san and Matt. Good times.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2008 9:37 pm

    Man, it was so great to see you guys there. Really looking forward to proper training with you in future.
    Carl will be a force when he sorts himself out. He’s got all the tools, just needs to put them together. I think he expects a lot out of himself… he’s his own biggest critic!
    Interesting to see another’s perspective on myself. One thing I would have added to the things I did wrong was, a few times I got lazy and resorted to strength vs. strength, which was usually when Carl ended up gaining the upper hand. But for a guy with a (self-proclaimed) lack of stamina, man does he push the pace!

  2. September 18, 2008 11:23 am

    I think we’re all our own worst critics. I know I am.

    Yeah, Carl’s going to be real scary when everything sinks in. Yikes!

Trackbacks

  1. Martial Farts » BJJ 16 Sep - Gaijin Explosion!

Leave a Reply

