Skip to content

my new gym

September 18, 2008

Here’s my new outdoor workout park.

Although I miss my old town with its wonderful school park complete with tractor tires to flip, large rocks to throw and rings to attempt muscle-ups on, I’ve found a decent replacement.

Instead of tires and rocks and rings, this park has great tall ropes to climb on and pretend I’m Spider-man jumping from rope to rope without falling and breaking my neck. It’s okay though, cause if I do, I’m insured.

There are many articles on the benefits of pull ups, especially for combat sports. But rope climbs are supposedly much better as they work on developing grip strength as well. From Judo halls to strongman competitions, rope pulls are a good measure of strength.


Climb, Monkey, Climb!

Strangely enough, the ropes have these big yellow balls on the ends of them. I guess to sit on or stand on. Or punch or kick as I’ve found them to be useful for those specific tasks.


My Big Yellow Balls – I know you likes ’em

The park also has those spring animals you can rock back and forth. I decided to take a trip down memory lane and jump on one of them. Yeehaa!


Last time I was on one of these
my age was a single digit

Believe it or not, rocking back and forth on these things is a great core workout, especially if you lean all the way as close to the ground as possible. Kinda scary, but lots of fun.


Do I take myself seriously? No

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2008 11:40 pm

    You’be stumbled across a good park there, nice work!

  2. September 19, 2008 1:16 pm

    Thanks. Now only if the locals wouldn’t run away in fear when I start working out…

Leave a Reply

