Skip to content

Road to the Kyushu Open – Fall Edition

November 5, 2008

I’m still training and working out, but I haven’t found the time to post up any recaps or summaries of my routines. Besides I think they’re more for my benefit than for spiking reader numbers skyhigh.

Workouts have been like this:

  • leg pistols
  • one arm pushups
  • climb rope
  • crunches and bridges
  • deadlifts
  • Training’s been like this:

  • lots of rolling with purple belts and Tomari-sensei and ninja white belts who have Judo backgrounds
  • lots of giving up positions
  • lots of tapping out
  • Actually, yesterday was all sorts of giving up position and tapping out. And it reminded me how much I dislike rolling with spazy white belts, especially the ones who rely on strength. One white belt in particular could have won the award for “most likely to give me an injury” last night.

    The white belt was Judoka which explained everything. You roll with one Judoka from Japan, you’ve rolled with them all. No grappling style whatsoever. Anyway, with that one white belt, the moment I started to push my game on him he began to up this strength and speed. I didn’t want to get caught up in the escalation so I toned my intensity down, he didn’t, took advantage of it and picked me up and slammed me to the mat.

    Sigh.

    For the remainder of the round he never toned down and I was content to provide very little resistance.

    The reason for my lack of kill-the-white-belt mode is that I didn’t want to risk getting injured, it being so close to the tournament.

    I don’t think I’ve mentioned this in a previous post, but I will be competing in the next Kyushu Open that will be held on November 9th. No-gi, adult, my weight class and absolute. I’ll be competing against one person only, twice. The same guy is in my weight class and in the absolute.

    I’ll be hard going up against one person, especially after the first match. We might figure each other out real fast and we’ll either be grossly out-matched or really close in skill. Not really worried about it.

    Also the days leading up to this tournament have been very different than days leading up to the one I had in summer.

    Summer Kyushu Open

  • lots of technical drilling
  • lots of conditioning workouts
  • lots of keeping track of my progress
  • Fall Kyushu Open

  • lots of hard sparring
  • lots of sore muscles and joint pain
  • lots of being tired but pushing through till the end of a round
  • I don’t know how I am skillwise. I always get my butt kicked at Paraestra. My confidence level is low, but I actually have a healthy mindset. Especially if I’m going into a sparring match. With the exception of last night, I’m usually like, grrr, screw you pal I’m gonna get to your back and choke you out, BAM!!

    Then my game gets shut down, then I give up positions, then I’m too tired from scrambling to defend, then I get submitted, and then I start all over again.

    Surprisingly, I’m not frustrated. Hopefully that’s a good thing.

    One Comment leave one →
    1. November 6, 2008 5:14 pm

      You’ll do good. Train hard, fight easy.
      See you on the mats at the competition!

    Leave a Reply

