Skip to content

Welcome the new Blue Belt!

November 18, 2008

blue

There’s a new Blue Belt in the jiu-jitsu world! And it’s none other than Hiromatsu-kun from Teppo Ebi! You know. He’s the crazy one who trains with broken ribs and competes while sick. Yeah, that Hiromatsu-kun.

A big congratulations and おめでとうございます to him!

da-man
Blue looks good on him

There’s no one else in Kurume’s Teppo Ebi who’s put in more time and dutifully earned their promotion than Hiromatsu-kun. He’s the joyful heart of the jiu-jitsu club, quick to make anyone laugh with a witty remark or silly action, and without a doubt always ready for a roll.

Imagine my surprise when I entered the Judo Hall where we train and saw this hardly-never worn, blue-on-blue, blue belt sitting in the corner.

I pointed at it and everyone pointed at Hiromatsu-kun. I cried out a very loud “Yeah, bitches” and shook his hand. Then I pushed him down, stepped over him, took his back and choked him out. Think I’ll make that my personal method of saying “congratulations”.

Afterwards we did our own version of the “Gauntlet” promotion run. Except everyone did frontal nut shots with their belts. Ahh, gotta love those new Japanese twists on traditions, eh?

gauntlet
Hurts so good

Anyway, the session turned out to be a great one. I think I cemented my spot as a blue belt there, mostly thanks to my training at Paraestra Hakata. I never got really winded and pushed myself hard against the blues there.

I only stopped sparring from time to time to re-tape my wrist and fingers, and give an impromptu English lesson for Iizuka-san. But mostly to give my aching joints a rest.

And speaking of sore joints… it was slowly building up to it but now it’s finally caught up to me. My right knee and elbow are officially giving me trouble… sigh.

Despite that I ridiculously tapped out all the white belts, pushed my game on Morimatsu-san (a white belt who is definitely ready for his blue) and Hiromatsu-kun, and gave Shimosako-san and Koga-san (the top level blues there) a run for their money.

Afterwards I worked on some drills with techniques from Roy Dean, Christian Graugart and, of course, Tomari-sensei. Good times indeed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2008 9:47 pm

    Sounds good.
    Except for the nut shots. That sounds bad.
    Hey, I recognise the blue belt with the chinny grin on the gauntlet picture. He is an old school Paraestra dude who was out with an injury for a while, am I right? Tough as old boots?
    I have been very ill lately but I will be back at training starting Sunday, when I am teaching the class for Tomari-san who has to go and ref Hayakawa-san’s fight in Tokyo! Wanna come?

  2. November 27, 2008 10:02 pm

    Ooo… sounds good. Actually wanted to shoot you an email concerning teaching stuff… and I will. heh heh.

  3. October 1, 2010 4:14 am

    beautiful belt

Leave a Reply

