Skip to content

Happy Birthday to Blog

December 5, 2008

Hey! My blog is a year old! Yippy!

cakey

Here’s my first post and I like to think I’ve come a long way.

Gone is the main focus of me trying to get my purple belt. Sure getting promoted is something we all look forward to, but it’s not that important to me.

Kinda funny being that I wrote a letter to my purple belt self. But then that will be the only time I bring up the subject of me and me being a purple belt. Unless it’s of me getting choked out by a purple belt then of course I’ll bring that up.

About three months into the blog, I came to a crisis point. I wasn’t happy with my martial arts status – I think I wasn’t happy with my life at the time either – and so I changed a whole bunch of my goals. I wrote about that here.

My goals are still the same.

Keep on training
I now have an amazing structure of training partners and a wide body of tough sparring partners that I think has helped me grow a lot than I did when I got back into training jiu-jitsu here in Japan. And I love it.

Support the Art
I have new friends who are brand new to jiu-jitsu as well as a white belt who should be a blue (talking to you Carl! Don’t worry, it’ll come!). I’m planning on entering as many competitions as I’m able to.

I also have a pet project in the works. Hopefully I can bring someone new to jiu-jitsu and if I’m successful you’ll be reading it.

Don’t mind if things don’t go my way
Whether in training or tournaments, I hope that I won’t let things bother me or stand in my way of just having fun. Plus I still want to be a positive motivational BJJ blogger. Don’t know if I’m doing enough of that though…

Keep things simple
Of course that’s a given. I’m working on some new stuff I’ll be debuing (is that the correct spelling?) this month. They won’t be very wordy so I’ll be able to post on a regular basis – at least I hope so.

More tips. More links. More laughs. Can’t guarentee that last one, but I can try.

Ugh… “SEE YOU AGAIN, 何もあげん!” Get it? Ah ha… I guess you have to be familiar with the Kurume area in Fukuoka to understand that joke. Sorry.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2008 8:49 am

    Happy Birthday to your blog. Keep up the great entries and it looks like you have some nice goals, competitions!

  2. December 7, 2008 11:06 am

    O tanjobi omedetou gozaimasu!
    Mata ichi nen de ganbatte kudasai! (?)

  3. December 7, 2008 11:32 pm

    @anthony
    Thanks!! I’ll do my best. And you keep up the good work too!

    @supercrap
    Doutashimashite. Hai, ganbarimasu!

  4. December 21, 2008 6:50 am

    congrats bro!

Leave a Reply

