Skip to content

Jiu-jitsu Thoughts – Letter to My Future Self

December 5, 2008

to purple me

Hello!

How are you? Good I hope. I’m a bit flemmy right now. It’s wintertime in Japan and you know how winters can be in the land of the rising sun. Speaking of which, are you still in Japan?

Anyway, there are a bunch of questions I want to ask you, like, “What kind of cars do they have in the future? Do they get to hover now?” You know, stuff like that.

But for the most part I just want to know how was it? How did it feel like to actually get promoted to purple belt? I know, I know, brown and black belts are the ones really at the top of the jiu-jitsu food chain, but – for some strange reason among whites and blues – it’s the purple belt that symbolizes an ideal level of achievement. Why is that? I have no clue, but I’m sure you know.

What did it take to get there? Wait, wait, I know the answer to that one. “Hard work and patience.”

Or something like that, really simple and something everyone should know and can be applied to any aspect of life, right?

I’m sure there are other factors. Winning a couple of tournaments. Tapping out a bunch of blues with ease. Being able to hang with other purple belts and exchange submissions. Having an in-depth knowledge of techniques or – better yet – a greater understanding of the fundamentals and basics of jiu-jitsu.

I wonder how long it’ll take me. How long did it take? Seems like it’ll take years before I show any real improvement let alone get a new stripe on my belt.

Is it a bigger target than wrapping a blue belt around your waist? Cause someone of my size with a blue belt around my waist is like open season for the big white belts. They just love trying to overpower me.

By the way, how do you deal with the big strong heavy white belts now? Do people still try to slap the Americana/Kimura from top side-control on you? Did you find a magical solution to that? I still get smashed by heavy white belts and have to tap out from time to time. It sucks, but it’s the story of my jiu-jitsu life.

Are you doing more wristlocks? Like the ones in Art of the Wristlock? (sorry I couldn’t resist)

And what’s the one thing that you know as a purple belt that you wish you knew when you were a blue belt? That’s the one I’d like to know. Might speed the process along…

I know you won’t be able to answer these questions until later on. Much later. Also I won’t know the answers to these questions until, you know, I become you.

Boy, do I feel weird – me talking about becoming you when you’re really just me only in the future… gah.

Well, I hope things are working out for you, with whatever job you have and with jiu-jitsu of course. Then again you are a purple belt now so things should be going good with jiu-jitsu. From my point of view anyway.

Tell everyone I said “hi” and take care. And keep on rolling! Oh, wait, you know that already don’t you?

blue me

5 Comments leave one →
  1. intraworkoutmeditations permalink
    December 5, 2008 10:18 pm

    Hey! i just wanted to quickly say that I’ve been keeping up to date with your blog & have decided to make a subscription! You’ve got quite a skill at writing good articles! keep up the good work!

    Peter
    http://www.intraworkoutmeditations.wordpress.com/

  2. December 7, 2008 12:02 pm

    You totally wrote that at school!
    Shouldn’t you be working?!

  3. December 7, 2008 11:29 pm

    Uh… um… no.

    Actually, I did that at during the 10 minute breaks (the pics) then copy paste to wordpress from word that I did at home then through a mix up – the real story is much more juicy – of schedules and voila I had a free period, which was hard to come by.

    But trust me. I work very very hard.

  4. December 8, 2008 8:14 pm

    I believe you dude. I just saw the maker of pen and the Japanese text on the thing you were leaning on and knew it was a school…

Trackbacks

  1. Martial Farts » Dear Jiu Jitsu…

Leave a Reply

