Skip to content

Training Tips – Know Your Techniques

December 8, 2008

Make a list of your favorite techniques and pick one out.

Drill that technique over and over and over again. With different people. With different levels of resistance. Figure out what makes the technique effective.

Understand the why’s of the technique – why is your body positioned that way, why the grips are where they are, why leg and hip placement are important.

Then see if you can link that technique to others, or pull off that technique in different situations.

Spend a lot of time on that one single technique.

After that go back to your favorite list and choose a new technique and start the process all over again.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2008 4:02 am

    Great advice. This will help improve anyone’s game for sure.

  2. December 12, 2008 5:57 am

    yup, that’s a great way to get techniques down. thanks for posting it, you wrote it up great

    I figure after a few months, that’s going to be how I’ll set my goals – focus on just one submission for a month

  3. December 12, 2008 2:20 pm

    Thanks guys!

    I did that with the guard passes before my tournament this past summer, now I need to do that again for the new passes and submissions I’m learning at Paraestra. Gah! It’s a never ending process.

    But that’s why I like jiu-jitsu 🙂

  4. May 11, 2009 2:00 pm

    Thanks for the tips. I shall use them. Surely they will help me in the long run. In Robert Drysdale Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Academy, I am also getting bjj training under Robert Drysdale, multiple time BJJ world Champion. Visit his official website, RobertDrysdale. Net to watch Bjj videos and to learn bjj techniques.

Leave a Reply

