Skip to content

Teppo Ebi – Dec 8th

December 9, 2008

It’s lunchtime! I’m at work! I have time to post up a post, yes!

Yesterday Shimosako-san and Koga-san were not present leaving myself, Hiromatsu-kun and Morimatsu-san as the big dogs at Teppo Ebi.

Highlights

  • One of the tough strong white belts came back after a three month break. He forgot his gi so I did no-gi grappling with him. For half an hour!! Of course there were breaks and I did spar with other people it’s just that when I added up the amount of rounds we rolled it came out to 30 minutes.
  • We have four newbie white belts at Teppo Ebi, two of them also train Karate. I rolled with one of them. It was the first time I ever saw someone try multiple Bruce Lee backflips in a row to escape an armbar. Everyone loved the show. As did I. He had a death grip on his arm so I opted to go for a wristlock instead of finishing the armbar, but time ran out. As I let go, he did another Bruce Lee flip to get back to his feet, proving he had tons of gas left in the tank. Too bad he missed the point that someone 10 kilos lighter than him easily stopped his attempts at escaping.
  • Last night, there were way too many mishaps involving hard body parts hitting the jaw or mouth. One guy almost got knocked out. Thank God I wore my mouthpiece yesterday. One of my sparing partners left with a pretty bad cut in his mouth after I stopped his sweep by smashing my jaw in this face. I’m sure there’ll be a time when I wished I had a cup… but so far so good.
  • Advertisements
    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

