Skip to content

Jiu-jitsu Thoughts – 8 Years Later

December 11, 2008

The previous video is of Phillipe Nover of TUF 8 fame receiving his black belt after training in jiu-jitsu for eight years.

Eight years ago I started training in jiu-jitsu. And I’m still a blue belt. Even though there was this four year gap of not training at all (I moved to Japan, lived in the countryside where it was hard for me to rent DVDs let alone train), it basically means my growth level at jiu-jitsu has been at a really really old snail’s impression of a senior sloth’s pace.

Wonder if there’s a Guiness World Record for Longest Time Training a Martial Art with No Real Progress. I’d definitely be in the running.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 22, 2008 9:02 am

    I am also in the running. Four years and Four stripes on my white belt.

    I trained no-gi BJJ until 6 months ago. I received the stripes about two weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

