Skip to content

Paraestra – Dec 20th

December 21, 2008

Since sparring started from the feet I tried to do some Judo throws at Paraestra yesterday. Gah. My timing is horrible. Got taken down. Got swept. Got smashed.

I think I’m getting worse. Or people are improving much faster than me. Or they finally figured out that my guard pretty much sucks and that have an extremely inactive bottom side-control.

The only thing I should mention about Saturday’s class was the recent addition to the school. Rolled with a three stripe blue belt who’s originally from Kobe. He’s tough and strong and, because he was the new boy on the mats, rolled at 110%.

Jeez. Sparring with him sucked. He moved here to Fukuoka because of work. He used to train at B-academy.

I’m saying “B-academy” because I’m not creative enough to come up with a clever pseudonym. There are a bunch of B-academies all over Japan but unfortunately none in Fukuoka.

There are actually quite a few places to train jiu-jitsu within Fukuoka, but for the most part the “largest” schools are Paraestra (cause there’s Kita-Kyushu and Hakata) and A-academy.

Long story short; A-academy and B-academy don’t like each other. You know, typical stupid jiu-jitsu family feuds.

The point of me mentioning this? Pretty obvious. A-academy doesn’t have a new three stripe blue for their students to train with. Hee!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2008 1:30 am

    “My timing is horrible. Got taken down. Got swept. Got smashed. I think I’m getting worse. Or people are improving much faster than me.”

    I know I’ve had days where I feel like that!

  2. December 22, 2008 7:40 am

    Just a note to let you know that your blog made it to the finals in the 2008 BJJ Blog of the Year Contest.

    http://thefightworkspodcast.com/2008/12/21/bjj-blog-year-vote/

    Happy Holidays,

    Caleb

Leave a Reply

