Skip to content

Jiu-jitsu Thoughts – 3 Things

January 9, 2009

Here are the three things I think are helping me to improve in jiu-jitsu.

Good People
I have an awesome sensei, great training partners and lots of real tough people to spar. If I’m improving it’s because of them.

Lots of Time
I spend a total of 11 hours to train jiu-jitsu three times a week and that includes travel time. I don’t know what the magic number is to see real growth, or if there is one, but if doing something often enough me better – like jiu-jitsu or hosting Karaoke parties – then that’s what I’m doing.

The only thing I do more than jiu-jitsu is work and study Japanese. Wait a minute, I didn’t add in the time spent writing this blog, extra note taking and watching/studying other instructionals. Gah!

Lots of Effort
Before I’d just put in minimum effort. Just enough to escape. Just enough to not get submitted, but never enough to overwhelm or dominate. I was tired of where I was skill-wise, so I went hard. Sparred at every opportunity and at a greater intensity. I came out of sparring matches totally beat, but still was able to keep up or pull off a few fancy moves. That went on for about a month or so.

Now that my wrist is giving me trouble, I’ve opted to go somewhat slower, push a little less harder than I think I could. Can’t wait to get back to 100%.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

