Skip to content

Joining the Broke Knee Club!

February 1, 2009

broke-knee
Hmm… it’s not so bad, but not good either

Went training this past Saturday.

Started off sparring with the guy known as the Baron within the halls of Paraestra Hakata. He’s known for going at 110% all the time. So I decided to see how’d I do if I matched his intensity.

In the middle of passing his guard, somehow my knee went pop.

I doubled over in pain. Everyone stopped to see if I was okay. I was given ice and my leg was elevated.

Tomari-sensei was kind enough to wrap my knee up and the Baron deeply apologized for his inactive part in my injury by offering me a protein drink.

The good news: I’m able to walk on my own power (though I’m walking in slow motion). And I’m able to fully bend my knee and straighten my leg.

The bad news: it really hurts to straighten my leg and if I put any kind of weight on my knee at an angle. I’m planning on going to the hospital to get it checked out to be safe.

The really bad news: even if it’s not that serious I’m out a couple weeks at the most. And I was really hoping to use the time to train for a tournament coming up this March.

I’m incredibly frustrated right now. I felt there was a bit of momentum behind my training lately. And with my knee going out on me… well all of that goes out the window.

I still want to enter the competition in March and will do anything to speed up the healing process, even if it means giving up jiu-jitsu for awhile.

Jeez, this is gonna suck.

broken
Thanks, Tomari-sensei! I think he used up an entire roll…

UPDATE 2/5: The word is that I’ve partially torn my medial collateral ligament (MCL) towards the medial condyle of my femur. Or in Japanese, 「じんたいの二つの層がは裂かれる。」 

I have another check up on my knee and will get the official period of time for it to heal. He originally said six weeks (GAH!) but was impressed that I could bend my knee comfortably, but didn’t like that I couldn’t fully extend my leg.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 12:09 am

    Sorry to see that you’re following Caleb’s footsteps in this regard. Hopefully you didn’t tear anything and just have a sprain. Good luck.

  2. February 2, 2009 2:36 am

    Yes I am really sorry to see that too man! It’s encouraging that you can bear some weight on it, but definitely take your time getting it better. (That’s what I keep repeating to myself 🙂

  3. February 2, 2009 2:28 pm

    That totally blows. I stretched my MCL last year and it took a couple weeks to get back on the mat. But ultimately it helped my game because I only drilled for months afterwards so as not to aggravate the injury. Hope you feel better.

  4. February 2, 2009 10:16 pm

    Crud dude! I really hope your knee fixes up quick time.
    Send me some questions for Tomari-sensei via keitai if you have them!
    Also, new grappling dummies is up…

    Some of my painful knee experiences: http://martialfarts.fightlinker.com/?p=97

  5. artofjits permalink
    February 4, 2009 12:04 am

    Don’t give up jiu jitsu, just blog more 🙂

  6. February 4, 2009 11:35 am

    Thanks for the support guys! Yes, I plan on still blogging from the sidelines! And I really can’t wait to get back into the mix!

  7. February 10, 2009 2:13 am

    oof, two words: injuries suck!!

    Hope you get better soon

Trackbacks

  1. BROKE KNEE YEAR ONE « Murasaki BJJ

Leave a Reply

