Skip to content

From the Sidelines – Feb 9th

February 9, 2009

I had a particularly terrible day at elementary school and it put me in a fowl mood. Add one part knee injury with one part classes on the third floor, two parts idiot teachers, one part ridiculous “Songs for Kids” CD put together by a deaf twit named Roger, and three parts worst teaching plan alteration ever!

Usually I’d go training and leave my frustrations on the mat but I have this to deal with…

leg
Pretty, ain’t it?

So I did the next best thing and went online to see how everyone else was doing and I soon found myself inspired and in lighter spirits.

***

The following video is of Brad Hirakawa sparring with Roy Dean.

It’s a very slow and technical roll. It’s something for me to look forward to when my knee heals up. I won’t be able to jump back into the mix of things as quickly as I thought I’d be able to and that’s fine with me.

I have Ross Enamiat to thank for my new found patience.

From Ross’s blog:

I do however believe that most of us have the potential to be great at something if we so choose. One must realize though that the choice to be great is often filled with sacrifice.

I want to be great at my jiu-jitsu. I want to be able to look back at this period, taking my time to heal well, and recognize that this time off has served me in the long run. This is but part of my sacrifice.

Right now it sucks not being able to train. Bearing illness and injury, it’s a feeling I hope to never encounter again. When I’m able to train again, I will do so with greater passion and intensity than I did before.

Ross’s message was so inspiring I’ve even decided to pour more energy into my Japanese studies.

***

There’s been a lot of promotions lately.

Or I’ve finally caught up to realizing that people have been promoted.

Georgette’s promotion, Elyse’s promotion, Sam’s promotion (which was in September of last year, the page I linked is a particularly good post on promotions), and Jadon’s promotion BOOYAH!

Congrats people!

***

Belts and promotions aside, I’m quite found of this simple statement by Leslie over at BJJ Grrl:

I forgot all about it on Tuesday because of so much else, but that was 10 months of BJJ for me. Still here, and not going anywhere.

Damn straight. Passion, perseverance, it’s all there. Despite the fatigue, the tiredness, the aches and pains, there lies the desire to continue training. I know, I’ve been there. I miss that total body ache mode I get after back-to-back training sessions. Yeah, feeling dead tired is one way to feel alive, as funny as that sounds.

I especially miss moments like this (from Leslie again):

I sat down, said, “Tired” (all I could get out), and nearly fell over. Trying to move and defend, and wow, had nothing. Could tell my body what to do, but it just nodded and stayed where it was.

Must be a massive blogwide epidemic of “me tired want sleepy”.

See? Here’s Forlogos in his blog:

Back-to-back evening classes. These classes always suck all my energy from me. This time I was gassed 35-40 minutes in. I don’t want to sound like I’m making excuses, maybe I am, but the combination of takedown techniques & picking yourself up a gazillion times, the feeling of low oxygen due to no air circulation (no fans or open windows), and back to back classes are all very draining.

Reading all of this, it makes me feel like I’m back on the mat, catching up with old friends, like I’m not even injured.

***

Finally to wrap up, a video I originally watched on Forlogo’s site and thought I’d share it seeing how weird it was to watch this as I’m linked to both men (one I took a seminar from, the other taught my sensei).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

