Skip to content

An Update, of sorts – Feb 10th

February 10, 2009

It’s amazing what a difference a day makes.

Yesterday was a crap day at school.

Today completely made up for it and made me forget that I even have an injured leg.

The kids were energized and behaved, the lesson plan went smoothly and with little hiccups, the teachers were actually open to my suggestions, and I received gifts of love that only being an English teacher in Japan could receive.

See?

nice
Nothing like sweets, a paper heart, a clover, a triangle and
a glass marble to make a guy feel incredibly good about himself

Three future cuties gave me origami at the end of lunch break and the one who gave me the pink heart gave me her chocolate cake (you can see it in the photo). She also made it a point to walk me back to the teacher’s office and made sure I held her hand the entire way. The coolest boy I’ve ever taught (he was the most active and led the rest of his classmates to match his level of enthusiasm) gave me his lucky marble. And a teacher gave me a Momiji manju sweet, which are only from Hiroshima, after I taught her homeroom class to make up for me standing up the entire lesson.

Thing is, I don’t mind putting in the extra effort. Good or terrible classes get all of me, 110% Patrick sensei, I don’t half ass anything in the classroom. Of course, the end of great days (like today) leave me excited and looking forward to the next work day.

Bad days make me want to choke out someone. I suppose that’s good for my jiu-jitsu.

***

I had a check up for my knee today.

Yes, I’m wearing a cast, which totally puts any thought of training jiu-jitsu out of the picture. I did some research and it’s a typical form of treatment, to place a leg in full cast order to immobilize the knee and speed recovery.

I don’t like the idea of walking around (or working) in a cast but I’m putting up with it. Sacrifice for greatness. That’s what I tell myself as I’m up in the middle of the night wanting to scratch the hell out of my leg.

I am exercising though. Push ups, sit ups, bridges, and leg pistols, baby! Yeah! I’m probably going to do pull ups or rope climbs later, but I gotta be real careful I don’t make things worse for me. On second thought, no dangling the body in the air until I have two good legs.

The check up consisted of only the doctor looking at my cast and asking if I had any discomfort in walking. I do, but I didn’t bother pointing it out. I don’t want my cast adjusted. I want it off. So I’m dealing with it and ultimately waiting for it to come off.

My next check up is on Feb 20th. I hope that’s when I finally can say goodbye to my cast.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2009 1:19 am

    A cast? So it is pretty messed up I guess! I am feeling the same urges that you are to continue to be active – to do anything that keeps me from losing all cardio & muscle tone. But I gotta behave and not mess it up any worse, like you said.

  2. February 11, 2009 11:49 am

    I wonder if the majority of active people who get injured still try to find ways to keep fit or is it just us crazy jiu-jitsu people!

  3. February 11, 2009 9:28 pm

    Dude it blows about your leg. So the competition is out?

    Stay focused and hungry and we’ll all have to watch out when you are back on the mats. It will be a good chance to let every part of your body heal up 100% too. I didn’t notice that much of a dip myself when I went back, so you should be OK.

    Nothing like a good day at elementary school to cheer your spirits. Those kids are the best, man. I have my last class at one of my favourite schools with the 5th grade tomorrow, I hope it will be a good one.

  4. February 12, 2009 12:36 pm

    Yeah, looks like I’ll be out of the competition. Sucks, but if I didn’t have to wear this cast I think I could have gotten in tournament shape by the time it came around. Now, it’s like nope cuz instead of rehabilitating just my knee, it’s my whole right leg. Yea, me.

Leave a Reply

