Skip to content

From the Sidelines – OJJ Feb 15th

February 16, 2009

This past Sunday we had another OJJ event and though we had a smaller number of people there it didn’t disappoint.

connections

The warm up was, as usual, 2 minutes of push ups, followed by 2 minutes of crunches, and finished off with 2 minutes of squats.

And then the second warm up started.

10 reps of any takedown or throw (but don’t follow through with it), run down the entire length of the Budo hall, 10 body weight exercises (push ups, sit ups, or a jumping exercise), and run back. That’s one set. There were three sets.

It looked like fun.

The rules were explained and then for the rest of the session it was open mat.

Obviously, I couldn’t participate in any form of physical activity, but instead I got this nifty badge.

badge

With badge in place I made my way around the mat shooting pictures and taking video. I stood up for the entire time and wasn’t in the least bit uncomfortable. Only after OJJ was over did I notice how tired I was from standing.

***

Highlights

Matt asked how I was coping with my lack of training, saying that I should work on my mental training. Going over techniques, game plans and secret weapons – that sort of stuff. To be honest, my thoughts haven’t been lingering on jiu-jitsu so much, but more on my stand up. Like grip fighting, wristlocks and my Kyoshinkai Karate drills I learned at Yushinkai. Those are things I can jump right into as soon as my cast gets off, and I’ll admit I miss my Judo and Karate training.

Real happy on Sam’s growth. He’s showing great improvement. His top game is pretty solid. Among his peers, he’ll pass guard without any trouble and hold on to top side-control for the rest of the round. I saw him sneak in a couple of submissions as well. The only thing I think Sam could work on is his guard. I always see opportunities for him to sweep and he’s always off-balancing his sparring partners. Then again I always see chances for other people to sweep watching from the side.

warmup

There were a lot of people who remembered me from last time even though I don’t remember meeting them. They noticed I got a haircut and wondered why I was limping. I showed them my cast and explained my injury as best as I could. Everyone I talked too wished me a quick recovery and promised a roll with me when I got better. That gave me a nice warm jiu-jitsu gooey feeling inside.

And at the end of OJJ, I got my cast signed by Matt, Sam and a couple of the regulars at Paraestra.

cast4

Super Highlight of the Day

There are a few times in our jiu-jitsu journey where we can witness the growth of our peers and friends. See them improve, cheer them on and be proud of their accomplishments. It was like that for me at OJJ.

You see, when… Ah, I’ll just come out and say it, cause no one else will say it and I know he won’t.

Ahem.

My friend Matt is badass now! MWA HA HA HA!

choke

I hope I didn’t just jinx him, but in my humble opinion I think he’s gotten crazy good (and Ide-san – the Don of OJJ and hefty purple belt – thinks so too).

Every match saw him in, he ripped through every single one. If he didn’t tear them apart he clearly put his sparring partners in jeopardy or traded submissions with ease – which even included the purple belts he rolled with.

What’s more amazing is that he seemed very casual about it. What I mean to say is Matt’s pace wasn’t hectic. During his rolls, he wasn’t going at a high level of intensity. It wasn’t as if he couldn’t go hard. His conditioning is not in question.

In fact, during the second warm up I noticed Sam started off long before Matt did. Yet when Sam finished, Matt was done only a few moments after. So intensity is definitely not an issue.

triangle

It was a sight to see, and I wish everyone could have seen it… wait a minute… that’s right, I recorded it on video! Heh heh heh. Stay tuned for that.

***

Even though I couldn’t really take part in things, it was great just to be there and still keep in touch with the great people who practice the same martial art I do.

There are two main events next month that even if I’m still hobbling around in a cast – which I hope is not the case – I’m still going to be present at. One of them is the tournament I wanted to enter but can’t.

The other is of course OJJ.

headstand

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2009 5:28 pm

    nice writeup man! i will graciously accept the compliment but with the caveat that it was simply an “on” day, and I have plenty of “off” days!

    i think i will edit the video next weekend.

  2. Carl permalink
    February 24, 2009 9:07 am

    I hope I can make it to one of these OJJ events. They look super fun. Miss you guys. I went to tepo ebi and brought a new guy. We will go from now on.

  3. February 24, 2009 11:25 am

    Right on! Glad to hear it! Can’t wait to get back to training myself.

Leave a Reply

