Skip to content

Working on my Foundation (and coaching at the same time)

March 5, 2009

Stephan Kesting has a great tip on returning back to training while recovering from an injury. I highly suggest reading it as it can be applied even if the hiatus from training was a simple week off because of the flu.

So when I finally get back to training I’m going to be working on my foundation. Getting my body used to moving like before. I’ll do this by doing only technique and positional awareness drills with the newbie white belts at Teppo Ebi. Or slow rolling with Matt, Sam, Brent or Carl.

I’ll have to hold off on jumping in the mix with anyone else. Don’t trust anyone else, plus can’t really explain myself well in Japanese to say “hey, no fast movements, just slow roll please, if you go spazzy on me I’m not training with you until my leg gets better then I’m choking your ass out cause you didn’t slow roll when I wanted you to”.

Since I’m all about helping others to improve, mostly what I really want to do is get the newbie white belts used to moving like grapplers and become more familiar with the positions on the ground. That way when they do spar they’ll have more more fun and don’t have to give the “I don’t know what to do next” excuse.

Solo drills:
Shrimps/reverse shrimps
Sitouts/4 pt base
Breakfalls > stand up in base
Heel grabs

Drills with a partner:
8 pt top position drill
open guard drill (bottom position moves)
open guard drill (top position moves, bottom hitchhikes)
turtle balance/back mount sweep drill
guard pass > mount bump drill
guard pass > mount knee-elbow escape > pass mount bump drill
guard pass > come to knees > back mount sweep drill

Sure it’s a lot of drills for newbies (and for me probably) but for the partner drills it also builds on the static drills where they learned about a pass or an escape. Here they get to use the techniques in a practical manner, without the heavy dose of resistance that sparring brings.

Just really excited to get back to training. Hee!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2009 10:23 pm

    Yeah man, out of nowhere I have been sideswiped by a two-week and counting cold, of all things. 😦 got to prepare myself smartly in the final week.

  2. March 6, 2009 2:04 pm

    The cast is off. Anytime you wanna work technique, I’ll be there. Plus that’s probably all I can work on.

Leave a Reply

