Skip to content

Sayonara & Thanks for the Memories

March 6, 2009

cast
I hate you so, but I miss you already

Dear full leg cast,

I know we haven’t been together for very long (Thank God) and the truth be told I don’t think I’ll look back fondly on our time together. You were cumbersome, awkward to deal with, you slowed me down, you made my leg shrink and stinky, and towards the end you even began to hurt me.

However I am thankful for the wonderful memories we made.

Remember when I used to be a fitness and health junkie? Ah, you made me change my silly ways full leg cast. Yes, we shared lots of drinks and snacks, cause there was nothing else to do after coming home from work, studying Japanese and… that was it. Just killing time, sitting around with you. I even began drinking coffee again just to function at work cause you’d keep me up at night. Teasing me, making my leg itchy beyond imagination. You can drive a grown man wild, I tell ya. Ah…

Remember the time we went out with my friends and I’d always take up the most space? Kinda hard to fit into many places in Japan with it being so cramped and tight, you were always the demanding type. Give me room! Grr! Ah ha. Silly cast…

Remember the time it was just me and you and only squat toilets in the building? Ah good times.

Remember the young students who poked around and hit you because they didn’t think you were there? Boy did I get upset at them, but didn’t show it. You were there to help me heal and these little kids found it amusing to smack you. I would have found it amusing too if it was you and someone else.

Remember the time I basically had one minute to catch the train to get to a friend’s birthday party, so I had to jump up and down a flight of stairs and barely got on? Yeah, you didn’t want to help out then. I think that was the beginning of the end.

Oh no wait. It was when you started pinching my ankle and made it extremely hard to walk or even put weight on my foot. Yeah, I really didn’t like you then.

But I’ll always remember trying to get out of my car in those tiny parking stalls, waking up earlier to get to places on time (but still being late), and everytime we stepped out together in crowded areas and became the human version of Frogger due to the notorious Japanese “get the hell outta my way” walking speed (and bumping into people).

Ah yes, the memories.

Goodbye, good riddance, and I hope to never see you again.

Hugs and Kisses (not really)
Patrick

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2009 3:37 am

    Nice!! Must be such a relief..

  2. March 7, 2009 10:34 am

    omedetou!
    how’s your leg? looking like a piece of bone covered with soggy tissue paper huh??

  3. March 9, 2009 3:52 pm

    @forlogos
    Yep, relief, my friend, relief. Now onto the rehab!

    @supacp
    My leg? Thin, not-so-soggy looking, smelled like it though. Yucky!

Leave a Reply

