Skip to content

Slow & Steady Wins the Race

March 9, 2009

But can’t I go a little more faster!?

***

Spent the entire weekend washing, stretching, walking, and slowly putting more bodyweight on my skinny leg. It kinda looks like a new born baby calf and just as shakey too. Although a baby calf is up and running in a couple of hours, my leg is nowhere near being able to send me bouncing off the walls.

I finally have a crutch and it’s been really helpful as my right leg gets super tired super quickly. There are a few things I’ve noticed and hopefully those of you injured out there might want to keep an eye out for these things when you get to the rehabilitation portion of your treatment.

Stuck in Reverse
I still walk like I’m wearing a cast. I can bend my knee. I can walk normally albeit slow.

But I still walk like I’m wearing a cast. It’s something I got used to doing in the past four weeks, it’ll be an interesting habit to break.

Like a Penguin in Hot Pursuit
When I finally did get my cast off I was incredibly happy. I could take showers again. I could go to the onsen (hot spring baths). I am – however – not the most agile of creatures right now.

When I do push myself, like trying to walk at normal speed or put more weight on my right leg than I should, my knee politely reminds me of its current status by pinging (sometimes with pain – and “pinging” is the only thing close to describing what it feels like). And, wow, does it ping! Then I jerk my knee up and hop around, which looks like I’m doing the hokey pokey.

Like a Duck to Water
I found it odd but aside from my rehab exercises I have to do, I also do exercises on my balance ball. I try to keep my leg in motion and move the ball with my right leg only. It’s like putting light “resistance” on it rather than giving it most of my body weight (me standing up) or none at all (the rehab exercises).

I also managed to mimic movement I’d do in the guard. And the cool part is I found that a lot easier to do than walking. It was surreal.

***

My leg still feels foreign to me. It feels like there are a million old rubber bands inside my knee whenever I bend it.

Bought my knee brace over the weekend as well. Will be heading into my regular training schedule this week. So long as I can deal with my own bodyweight then I’m cool. If not, I’d be more than happy to sit out for a few minutes.

But for the meantime techniques and light drills only, thank you very much.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2009 9:10 pm

    Dude, I’ll be dragging my splutter arse there tomorrow I think. Let’s do some light work.

  2. March 10, 2009 12:27 am

    Glad to see you are back. Don’t rush the rehab that will lead to a chronic injury I had to find that out the hard way.

  3. March 10, 2009 11:46 am

    But the hokey pokey is what it’s all about, so you’re good. 😉

  4. March 10, 2009 2:57 pm

    @suprcp
    Splutter arse and shakey calf leg form to combine UNDEVASTATOR!!

    @dan
    Yup, not rushing anything. In fact thinking of taking it even easier.

    @leslie
    haha! You’re totally right! 😉

Leave a Reply

