Skip to content

Jiu-jitsu Thoughts – Choice

March 20, 2009

If you had to choose between:

1 hour of technique and 20 minutes of sparring,
30 minutes of technique and 30 minutes of sparring,
Or…
1 hour of working on whatever you want and 1 hour of sparring,

which one would you do?

Me? I’m busy so I’d go with no.2 – 30 minutes technique, 30 minutes spar.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2009 1:26 pm

    Yeah, I’d go #2. After an hour, everything gets sloppy. And an hour “free”, with no structure, is counter-productive, imho.

  2. March 20, 2009 8:35 pm

    I’d have to go for number 3 with the caveat that I’d be working constructively during that hour.
    Drool drool I can’t wait to get back on the mats… how long for you man?

  3. jiujitsu365 permalink
    March 22, 2009 9:27 am

    30 minutes of technique and 30 minutes of sparring.

    I have always thought that 1 1/2 hours is too long for me.

    I’d prefer 10 minutes to warmup, 30 minutes of drill and 20 minutes of non stop rolling. I could probably train more too.

  4. March 23, 2009 5:24 pm

    Definitely first option, 1hr of technique and 20 mins of sparring.

    I never get in as much drilling as I’d like, not to mention its massively useful having an instructor there to clarify details if I run into problems.

  5. March 24, 2009 8:24 am

    I choose… where the snarg is your writeup of saturday nights adventures man?! My blog has been down, that’s my excuse.

Leave a Reply

