Skip to content

Paraestra – March 31st

April 1, 2009

Actually I also went to Teppo Ebi on Monday, but spent the night messing around with Iizuka-san’s and Miyazaki-san’s kids. My “sparring” session consisted of 4 four opponents – two girls, two boys, all mayhem.

Fast forward to yesterday and class at Hakapara. Went over open guard passes and concepts. The main thing I wanted to point out was the preparation for the upcoming tournament.

Apparently there will another ccompetitor from Hakata that will be entering the weight class I’ll be fighting in. Yoshihara-san, famous for his Mysterious Move sweep (although I figured it out), will most likey enter the Kyushu Championship tournament as well. Provided he can take off that day.

So being that he’s a “teammate” I went over to Tomari-sensei and asked what should I do if we meet up and it’s not the final match.

I really like Tomari-sensei. He’s a great funny guy and he’s said it himself that he gets really strict when it comes to tournaments. After all they are competitions, best practitioner wins.

His personal view on competing with teammates is that they’re in the way. He’s in it to win and if his teammates want an easy win, they pay him money. If not, all ties disappear when the competition referee says fight.

I was told to talk it over with Yoshihara-san and go over the what ifs with him. It ultimately is up to us how we treat our potential match up.

Matt and I have a potential match up as well in the absolute. We’re gonna treat it as an exhibition fight and try to have as much fun as we can for however long our match is. And if we get caught, we get caught. No hard feelings.

But in terms of me and Yoshihara-san, I’m really not sure what to do. Ideally it’d be great if we make it to the finals and we’re fighting for gold. Then I’ll be like, screw it, I’m fighting for the win. But if we meet anytime before that – as it stands now, with my leg and knee in the shape they’re in, I have no problems giving him the win. I’m fighting in the absolute so I need to save my energy. He’ll significantly have an advantage over his opponents because he’ll be rested as well.

I don’t know. I might change my mind later as the competition gets closer and my leg gets stronger. I’m already having an easier time kneeling and putting weight on my knee at different angles.

I kinda talked it over with Yoshihara-san about my tentative plan on giving him the win and he asked if I wanted monetary compensation for it. I said no. I just want to take a picture with him with the gold medal around his neck.

And if he doesn’t sweep the division, I’ll ask him to buy me the Andre Galvao DVD instructional.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2009 10:45 am

    “…if his teammates want an easy win, they pay him money.”

    That cracked me up. So Japanese.

    I don’t know, it’s been quite a few years since I did anything competive, and what with injuries and whatnot, a couple since I’ve done any serious sparring… but I always felt that that kind of “teammate pass”/exhibition mentality was kind of, well, disrespectful. To both the tournament and the fellow competitors.

    I can’t imagine ever being satisfied with a win knowing that I paid off a teammate to go easy, or going easy on somebody for cash.

    Especially at the amateur level. I can almost get doing it as a pro, because in some cases you’re really just trying to put food on the table, but when that kind of thing isn’t a consideration, well…

    A tournament is to test yourself and do your best. If you’re not really trying, I’m not real sure why you’d do it.

    My two cents, and worth even less, fwiw…

  2. April 2, 2009 9:34 am

    I have a lot of deprogramming to do. My “team” back home championed the “we’re all one team” mentality. And it stuck.

  3. April 2, 2009 9:35 am

    Japanese culture, while having a lot of value, isn’t particularly helpful in that regard, either. You’ll be swimming against the tide, but it’s up to you to decide what’s important and authentic for you. Gambatte.

  4. April 2, 2009 10:02 am

    Hey Pat, I think I gleaned something different from what Tomari-san said… he said in the CBJJ Copa de Mundo (as opposed to the mundials) there is prize money involved. So they decided at that time that they would not fight, Tomari-san would take the medal and the Brazilian take the money.

    But a funny story nonetheless.

    You and Yoshihara-san should have a practice fight like a week before the comp to decide who would theoritically win on the day! Watch out though, man is that guy good… he’s all bendy and quick and stuff.

  5. April 5, 2009 2:20 pm

    After watching you and Yoshihara-san roll I figured out his how he does his “sweeps” which are just cleverly timed “post ups” that “white belts” automatically do.

    At the right moment, he uses the space he creates to give him momentum and thus the ability to sweep. It’s bad though because it can give up positions which you took advantage of a lot.

Leave a Reply

