Skip to content

Card carrying member of the IBJJF since… uh, now

April 2, 2009

Lookie what I got.

card2
dead sexy I am not

It’s official. I’m a member of the BJJFJ which is under the IBJJF. In a nutshell, the IBJJF is an organization which recognizes schools and belt rankings and tournaments.

There’s more information here at Luke’s BJJ Asia, and Caleb’s Fightwork Podcast (although they discuss the BJJFP and USBJJF respectively).

Despite what people think about sports organizations, I think it’s a great idea. Imagine going to a local tournament in China or Europe and winning matches there and having that win recognized on an international level.

Think of it as another way to prove you’re an authentic black belt and not a fakey black belt.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 10:03 am

    Yeeehaw! Got me one of them, too. Somewhere round here… I think… it’s… um… I’ll be right back.

  2. April 2, 2009 2:13 pm

    I don’t know, I’m not really too big on the bureaucracy of sport. It turns political too quickly. Certifications and licensing… bleah. And while in a lot of places you can just show up, sign your name and compete, you can’t really do that in Japan, because you have to be a “member.”

    It just seems to be another barrier to authenticity, which is the practice itself.

    …why would you want to “prove” you’re anything? Just roll. That should take care of it, yeah?

    Sorry I’ve been so opinionated on your blog lately. No classes yet. Too much free time 🙂

  3. April 5, 2009 2:12 pm

    No worries, Rob. I feel the same. 😉

Leave a Reply

