Skip to content

Patrick’s Crappy Day

April 27, 2009

Althought the 2009 Kyushu Championship tournament had a very small turnout, it still had cream of the crop (Kyushu wise) jiu-jitsu practitioners representing.

Personally, it was rather uneventful. Or should I say very full of terrible events (three of them).

Bad Moment #1
I bought a brand new camera – the Canon Kiss X2 – this weekend for my upcoming trip back home to Hawaii. Besides if I have more OJJ picture snapping duty in the future I need a better camera than my point-n-shoot – a Sony DSC H3. It does the job, but I’ve gotten to the point where I pushed the limits to what I can and can’t do on my point-n-shoot.

So there I am ready to fire off a whole bunch of shots when I find out that the main photographer for the event doesn’t have access to his own camera. They ask if they could use my camera to which two answers came to mind:

answer a – “Sure you can use my camera (takes off lens), but you can’t use my lens.”
answer b – “Uh… no.”

Seeing as I have no backbone and hopefully this will come back to me in some cool form or favor, I say sure. And hand off my camera to someone who has no clue how to work it. The pictures are ok.

Bad Moment #2
My first match in my weight class… I get choked out. Really.

I abandon years of takedowns and throws and pull guard, immediately try for an armbar (his arm was ridiculously out there) but end up almost getting passed. I get to my knees and try for a single leg. He starts working on a clock choke but doesn’t have it deep so I press on for the takedown.

Somehow he does a sprawl/spinout that bashes my head into the mat AND gets him the choke. I try to sitout, but it’s too late. I go to tap out.

I do.

I’m lying down on the mat.

I try to get up.

I’m not getting up.

I can only hear my breathing.

I see the ref and my opponent standing over me. Then I realized I got choked out.

Bad Moment #3
After my loss I sink into a really bad funk. I try to get over it but it was only until my first match in the absolute did I snap out of it.

I went in with some words of encouragement from Matt and a whole new game plan. I used my speed to my advantage and right off the bat got an ankle pick takedown. Before I knew it I was up by six points. I was winning.

There was a mad scramble after a sweep attempt.

He grabbed my right ankle and pushed it out to open my legs. Not my gi pants. Not my knee. The ankle, where he could work the most torque on my knee.

And it went pop for the second time this year. Yea me.

Getting an injury is a terrible feeling. Getting re-injured is worse.

I got carried off, iced down and wrapped up. Going to get my knee checked again. Will update with news when I get it.

And there you have it. Patrick’s bad day.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2009 2:43 pm

    Geez dude… odaji ni/that sucks/gambatte and all that kinda stuff. That’s a really crappy day.

  2. April 28, 2009 2:55 am

    Man I am so sorry to hear about your knee. 😦

  3. April 28, 2009 8:06 am

    Sorry to hear about your bad day Patrick 😦

    Like Matt said in the scheme of things it’s only a footnote in what can still be a fantastic journey and experience through BJJ.

    Hang in there. 🙂

    • April 28, 2009 1:33 pm

      Thanks Rob, Caleb, Adam… still keeping my head up. 😉

  4. Jon permalink
    April 28, 2009 9:37 am

    thats fucking sucks dude! come down and lets train some standup so you can pound out that guy that messed your ankle!!

    • April 28, 2009 1:34 pm

      Soon as I can walk/run/jump up and down like a regular bloke, you’ll be hearing from me. Ha!

  5. jiujitsu365 permalink
    April 28, 2009 11:34 am

    Dag! There’s a knee virus going around! However, as everyone is saying, it’s only temporary.

    Keep your head up!

Leave a Reply

