Skip to content

Jiu-jitsu Thoughts – lessons learned and afterthoughts

April 28, 2009

Someone somewhere said that you learn more from your failures than you do your accomplishments. Lets just say I learned a lot this past weekend.

The obvious one is injury related.

I would strongly advise everyone with an injury to slowly get back into training – in whatever sport you compete regardless if it’s combat related – and never really try to push yourself harder than what your body is capable of.

I’m a firm believer that the human body is a marvelous piece of equipment, able to perform incredible physical feats that others might deem impossible. However, it’s also a very high maintenance piece of equipment. Listen to and take care of your body, it’s the only one you got.

Within a month of getting my knee back to the strength level of being able to walk up and down stairs I go and enter a competition. It was way too soon for me. My knee would strain just from friendly sparring and I go off thinking I’ll be competition level in no time.

The other things I took away from this past tourney was:
Watch out for chokes on the bottom turtle whether they be guillotines, brabos or clock chokes.

And:
Don’t abandon A-game work just to play it safe. Like if you’ve got solid throws and takedowns, do ’em.

In my case I’ve either thrown or been thrown. The day I pulled guard was the day I got choked out. It’s a sign.

I had a dream-like-vision of me and Matt meeting up in the absolute this past weekend and rolling, giving it our best. A showcase of our skills, not to see who is the better man, but to honour the time we spent training, the bond we forged, to make our sensei, our peers, our family and friends proud of us.

Oh, I’m sure we’ll have that moment. No doubt about it. I have to heal up and get better first.

I really can’t get over the fact Matt’s a purple now. I smile just thinking about it.

And I have to say, his thoughts on the whole thing are probably the most down to earth of all the posts I’ve read on getting the purple belt concidering how big of a deal purple is (when you’re a blue belt). I also found his post to be very inspirational and look forward to getting back to training but am in no rush to get back (for real this time).

I mentioned to Sam that he’s next. He’s definitely getting his blue before I get my promotion. He chuckled and cracked an amused smile like I was off my rocker, but I like to think I’m right. I was right when it came to Matt. Knew he was getting his purple before I’d be getting mine.

This kinda leaves me in a dilemma. What to write about while I’m healing up. I’m not going to be staying on the sidelines like I did before watching everyone else progress while I heal and stay stagnant skillwise. Or if I do I’m not going to write about it. It may have added to the pressure or the expectation of rushing back to competition shape faster than I should have.

So I’m really going to put jiu-jitsu (for the time being) out of mind. Not out of sight mind you. I’m still crazy about it. I can’t not be without it. Wait, did that make sense?

I’m not going to invest more thought into it than I should for someone who can’t practice or train it. Which unfortunately is what I’ve become for the second time this year. Yea me.

Whatever it is my posts from here on out will be it will most likely be a bit off topic. Perhaps I should label them BOT (Bit Off Topic) posts and SWOT (Super Way Off Topic) posts and number them. See how far up I get. Or something like that.

Hmm… what does a jiu-jitsu writer write about when he can’t do the jiu-jitsu? Let’s find out shall we 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

