Skip to content

the two men who gave my instructor his black belt

May 15, 2009

Sigh… I just couldn’t stay away from jiu-jitsu.

No, I didn’t get back on the mats (not yet anyway). But I wanted to stay clear from the training halls and watching jiu-jitsu (reading about it is fine, strangely enough) because watching it, man, that adds fuel to the fire, like a junkie who needs his next fix. Yesh, I miss it.

So, the rental store closest to my place closed down this week, forcing me to commute another minute away and start a new membership at a new store. Rented a few oldies – For Your Eyes Only (my first Bond film), Goldfinger (I’m a Roger Moore as Bond fan for life, but there’s no denying Sean Connery), The World is Not Enough (I’m a big Garage fan, love the theme song), and The Wrath of Khan (Star Trek finally gets released here in Japan May 29th, YEAH BABY!).

And before I left the store I ran across the sports section complete with martial arts and found the GI-UM DVD featuring the following match between Leo Vieira vs Nakai Yuki. If you were able to get your hands on a copy of the entire DVD you’d be able to see of particular matches of practitioners you might know like Leo’s brother Ricardo Vieira and Uematsu Naoya.

Having been devoid of watching anything remotely resembling grappling, I could not resist the temptation and lumped the DVD in with the rest of my selection.

Although the majority of my rentals were Bond films, the GI-UM DVD was the second DVD I watched. Yeah, I’m a Star Trek fan and proud of it, but I can also choke out guys twice my size and weight so that makes me a geek with ninja skills.

Ahem.

Anyway, after watch the entire GI-UM DVD I was pleased to find out that my instructor, Tomari-sensei, is also on the DVD as well competing as a purple belt. It was funky watching him as a purple trying to pass guard, because I saw all the openings available to him yet didn’t take. Kinda maddening, actually. Then again, the DVD is seven years old. And obviously a one’s purple belt game is totally different than one’s black belt game.

If there’s one thing I noticed among all the matches on the DVD, it’s that usually with people of the “same” rank competing against each other it’s easy to see how close in skill some people are, who’s valiantly trying to stall and who’s vastly superior in skill. Most of the matches were hard battles, tons of advantages, very few wins by submission.

Then there’s the match between Leo Vieira and Nakai Yuki.

To take nothing away from Nakai Yuki – who could easily snap all the joints in my body and probably do so while choking me out – Leo Vieira seems to be in a class by himself. Student of Romero “JACARE” Cacalvanti, who is a student of the legendary Rolls Gracie (if Rolls’ legacy produces schools like Alliance BJJ imagine if he was still alive today), Leo Vieira is quite an amazing sight to behold.

Oh, Leo and Yuki are pena (my weight class) in the clip below. I have three practitioners to model myself after now. Leo Vieira, Nagai Nakai Yuki and the man they both promoted to black belt, Tomari Kenshi.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. bob permalink
    May 17, 2009 1:00 pm

    I think his last name is Nakai.

  2. May 18, 2009 8:05 pm

    If there’s one thing he ain’t, it’s “nagai”… 😉

    • May 20, 2009 12:40 pm

      Imagine if that really was his family name and his given name was “cho”… 😀

Leave a Reply

