Skip to content

Jiu-jitsu Thoughts – Brain Fart

May 27, 2009

Been to a few classes, on the sidelines only. Didn’t bother writing about them because I’m just there to take video and photos of everyone else.

I was given the okay and blessing to continue Grappling Dummies here in Japan from Matt as makes his way back to the UK. It’ll be odd taking over the Grappling Dummies Japan side of our little web episodes as Matt was basically the whole brains of the operation.

Anyway, I’ll cover that later. What I wanted to say in this post is that I’m probably losing my jiu-jitsu chops.

As I was snapping away and hovering over people as they drilled and sparred, I was asked for some advice. Guard passing suggestions. Other submissions from side-control. How to link so-n-so techniques together. Give a few more side-control escapes. Stuff like that.

I kinda blinked once or twice, shrugged my shoulders and went back behind the camera.

I had no answers and no real suggestions for anyone with a question. Yikes!

It’s sad. I’m gonna be so ridiculously simple to roll with when I can roll again. In the meantime, I’m still enjoying my time away from the mat.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2009 5:02 pm

    Language is a big part of it though… Don’t worry, I feel the same, and I’m training regularly!
    Did you get my mail about tomorrow night?

    • May 29, 2009 9:45 am

      Shame I won’t be there. I kinda had a mini panic attack when I realized I’m leaving in two days and haven’t really prepared.

      Have fun and don’t headbutt any strange animals! The animals you’re friendly with are okay though.

Leave a Reply

