Skip to content

Hawaii Bound

May 29, 2009

Been busy at work, which is elementary school, this past week and a half so no real updates here.

I have the next parts of my little “favourite martial art films” series only as drafts, so they’re not ready. Those won’t be up anytime soon if you’re looking forward to them.

The other news is I’m homeward bound to Hawaii, YEEHAA! Beach, BBQs and bikini, oh yeah! My oh-so-lovely girlfriend, Yoko, is coming with me but she’s bringing only one bikini thus the singular use of the word. Still sticking with the singular as I only have eyes for her. I’m there for a ridiculously-short week but I’m am going home. Going back home. I like the sound of that.

I’m also going back to my martial roots, my old garage training grounds that is. Planning on taking lots of pictures of area, hanging out with my crazy friends and catching up. Hee, can’t wait!

Unfortunately training is out of the question. My knee and leg are doing lots better. No longer do stairs pose a deadly threat to me, but I’m still not able to launch into ninja attack mode so easily.

If I can I want to visit my old jiu-jitsu school. See how things have changed and how they’ve stayed the same, however I think I’ll have no time to spare. Sigh.

On a side/related note, Brent (who’s been training with me for almost two years now – wow! hard to believe it’s been that long) is also heading back home to Hawaii (yeah, there’s a bunch of us in Fukuoka) for two weeks (lucky guy) and he asked me for a recommendation of a good place to train while there. Another friend of mine, Gary, is heading back for graduate school and he asked me the same thing.

Never really thought of myself as being tied well to the different schools and academies there, but I’m not surprised. Considering Hawaii is just a small group of islands – everybody does know everybody. More so if it’s a tight group like say martial artists.

Probably the same reason why I won’t have much sleep when I’m there. Told only a few select people I’m coming back.  Now a ton of friends know about it and want to see me… sigh.

Anyways, the next time I post I’ll be in Hawaii! Jealous? I hope so. Hee.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2009 10:34 pm

    Yes, yes, I am jealous. Have fun!

    And very smart use of the singular. (Just be sure it’s not only eyes you have for her, but anything else that’s required, too!)

  2. May 30, 2009 12:06 pm

    enjoy man! and take lots of pics, i want to read about your hawaii adventures. brush up on your hang ten sign for photos.

Leave a Reply

