Skip to content

Jiu-jitsu Update

June 12, 2009

It’s been more than six weeks since I re-injured my right knee. I’ve been good about taking things easy and not rushing back to the mats. The only time I’ve found myself on the mats has been to take photos or video or to do something vaguely resembling coaching.

At the time of writing this previous post on the subject I was unable to do any sort of exercise. Squats were out of the question as was walking up stairs.

Currently I am able to walk up and down stairs like before, and I can do one legged (bodyweight) squats with my right leg. I am nowhere near being able to do a leg pistol.

The next level of exercise for my leg are Hindu squats – they have a larger range of motion than regular squats and are closer in movement to leg pistols.

I’ve also been going to the gym – doing deadlifts. Just the bar though. And only one set. I overtrained one day and that set me back a whole week.

My flexibility goals are to do butterfly stretches and eventually work my way back to full seiza (sitting with my leg tucked under me, knees pointing straight). I don’t know how long that’ll take. I can’t even sit cross legged for very long.

I’m not putting myself on any timeline and yet the call of jiu-jitsu gets stronger and stronger everyday. I know I’ll train like a madman as soon as my leg meets my expectations. I just have to be patient. Sigh.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2009 5:40 am

    Met Roger Gracie today mate. And Reyson Gracie. I’ll blog about it tomorrow. Hope the knee is better!

  2. Debbie permalink
    August 23, 2009 3:56 am

    I blew out my knee two weeks ago in my BJJ class…Now I am looking at surgery and being off the mat for a minimum of 3 months, even then I will be very limited until 6 months. My therapist said probably no grappling for 8-12 months! It is so depressing. Any advice you can give me as to how to stay positive, things I can expect…would be much appreciated. I am use to doing BJJ 3 x a week-it’s only been two weeks and I miss it so much!

    • August 24, 2009 3:29 pm

      Hey Debbie,

      I feel your pain and I totally know what you’re going through. I can send you an email if you need some advice or words of encouragement, just reply here if it’s cool to write to you.

      I have a new blog My Murasaki Life and I address my surgery there. Also if you haven’t listened to it before, I highly recommend listing to Caleb’s interview with Danny Dring on the Fightworks Podcast about injuries. You can also contact Caleb for advice cause he had knee surgery too!

      Take it easy!

Leave a Reply

