Skip to content

Judo vs Jiu-jitsu

July 7, 2009

Sorry about the misleading title but it’s true. Sort of.

I’ve been watching a bunch of online vids and become inspired to work more on my stand-up (kneeling is still a problem for me).

Case in point – the Camarillo brothers vs each other. Plus I like their Judo. It’s nice.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 8:56 am

    I agree. Stand-up training is not covered as much as it should be in many BJJ academies. My green belt in Judo has always made me one of the top takedown guys in the 3 or 4 places that I’ve trained.

    That should not be possible, but unfortunately it is.

    • July 8, 2009 3:15 pm

      Going into tournaments here in Japan and watching them, you can immediately tell who’s got the better stand-up. Unfortunately it’s only one or two in the entire competition.

      Hard to believe it living in the country that Judo originates from.

  2. July 8, 2009 12:10 pm

    Shock and awe. I agree wholeheartedly, dominating the ground fight starts with dominating the stand-up. The Camarillo brothers are inspirational.

    • July 8, 2009 3:21 pm

      Most definitely! I’m going to be using my extra training day (usually Mondays) to focus on my stand-up. And the intensity they bring to the mat — that’s something I want to work on as well!

  3. July 8, 2009 5:09 pm

    I can see why its important, but I hate training stand-up. Of course, I’m not especially keen on competing.

    Ever since getting injured in my third lesson of judo several years ago (and then being out for several months), I’ve been put off takedowns. Reading about how injurious it is and that every old judoka has messed up knees doesn’t help the confidence either. 😉

    • July 9, 2009 2:19 pm

      I never really focused on my stand-up until I got to Japan. Before that, I really hated it so I totally know where you’re coming from. Injuries, along with a potential of long-term knee damage, only hinder the process.

      Prime example is David Camarillo; on the short list for the Olympic Judo team, and then he got injured. But thanks to that injury he found jiu-jitsu.

      Waitasec… I’m the opposite of that now. Can’t do the jiu-jitsu so training takedowns… huh, strange how that works out.

      • sascha permalink
        April 20, 2010 5:27 pm

        do you think judo is better then jiu-jitsu and why?

        sascha

  4. July 11, 2009 12:58 am

    It’s a blessing in disguise for me not to be able to afford BJJ at the moment.
    I will work on my judo and return to BJJ with some stand-up stamina (sorely lacking until now), as well as hopefully a couple of go-to throws, also sorely lacking.
    Back to job hunting!

  5. April 26, 2011 4:39 am

    utilized

Leave a Reply

