Skip to content

Teppo Ebi – July 13

July 14, 2009

Finally strapped on a gi for the first time since I re-injured my knee yesterday. Didn’t do any sparring. Didn’t do any drilling either. Just joined the conditioning warm ups and showed some techniques to the guys. That’s it.

I sort of kept up with the warm up. I wasn’t grunting and groaning, but I didn’t really do all of the reps either.  And I totally forgot about the gi!

Geez, it’s super hot ! Gah! After the warm ups, I just stood on the side and was constantly sweating for so long I soaked my gi.

Originally I wanted to work on some stand-up, but after Brent brought up not being able to finish Morimatsu-san in the back mount, I taught some escapes and my high percentage collar choke. I then had everyone do two minutes of positional drills from the back mount. One trying to submit, the other trying to escape. Kinda obvious.

The last time I did that particular drill I had finished my training partner four times within the two minutes we had for the drill. Everyone there had trouble finishing with the exception of Brent and Carl.

That along with asking the question of “do you guys know how to breakfall?” with the reply being, of course, no, made me realize just how green everyone else is compared to seasoned crispy leaf old me.

Eventually I did work on some stand-up. It was just drilling the entry to the throws and takedowns I wanted to work on, but I couldn’t follow through on them. Not without potentially hurting my training partner, Oguni, who has yet to learn how to properly breakfall.

I also wanted to practice jumping into guard, but didn’t really get a chance to. Everyone was tired and it was towards the end of the session when I finally got around to asking if they wouldn’t mind a 64 kilo heavy guy jumping up on top of them.

I’m still good on not sparring. Still building up my leg strength. I’ve gotten to the point that my legs are able to handle a good workout but the days following it are hard on my knee.  Other than that, I’m also getting better at kneeling, I can stay in seiza for more than a minute!  Huge when I couldn’t even do that a month ago!

I am getting close to really coming back.  It’s a nice feeling. 

Oh, btw, here’s Teppo Ebi’s new homepage.  You can see me kneeling with a smile on my face.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2009 5:44 pm

    You are doing it perfectly man. Stay cool, take your time, it will be worth it!

  2. July 14, 2009 10:56 pm

    Glad to hear you’re getting closer to getting back.

  3. July 14, 2009 11:59 pm

    I may be greener than a thistle, but I know my ukemis. Just never done it off an Oguni before. I thought everyone learns breakfalls before ANYthing else???

  4. July 15, 2009 1:57 pm

    @matt and leslie
    Thanks! I wonder what it’ll be like when I finally do. We’ll see!

    @mike
    Dude, you’re a sharp dark green than a new budding soft light green-leaf green. And, when I joined jiu-jitsu, I wasn’t taught breakfalls. I learned them before, on carpet covered concrete.

  5. July 17, 2009 12:25 am

    Very good and informative Post

Leave a Reply

