Skip to content

So long and thanks for all the fish!

July 29, 2009

I re-re-injured my knee. Went through some major crazy thinking. I’m still going through it.

Although I have a full week to wait for the news as to the full extent of my ACL injury – so it make seem like I’m jumping the gun here, and regardless of whether or not I go into surgery – I’ve decided to stop jiu-jitsu for the rest of the year.

And as a result of that, this blog will go into hibernation.

A jiu-jitsu blog about a guy who can’t jiu-jitsu. Boring, if you ask me.

As much as I enjoy seeing the progress of my peers and friends, it’s really heartbreaking to be there on the sidelines and not be an active part of it.

I like the personal approach to coaching, working with or against my training partner, letting them figure out how to work the technique against me and then turning on the pressure, seeing how they’ll deal with it.

It’s the aspect of training jiu-jitsu aside from the actual training that I’ll miss the most. I’ll miss being a jiu-jitsu training partner than training jiu-jitsu.

There are a few loose ends to tidy up, so there probably might be an occassional blip here or there with a report on an OJJ event or a competition and, of course, what the heck is going on with my knee.

But for the most part, I’m going to be keeping a low to non-existent profile.

I’ll leave with a few personal messages.

For Carl – please do not feel bad about being the guy on the other end of an injury. Things rarely go the way we plan them, we only choose how we can deal with it. Any feeling of regret or apathy in my case is a waste of energy.

If anything you’ll learn how to precisely perform that sweep. Don’t make me sit out on the sidelines again for nothing. Next time you pull off that sweep make it clean and make it count!

In all seriousness, I’d like to say you have no idea of the jiu-jitsu practitioner I see in you. You have always been humble about your ability and because of it you’ve dwelled on your shortcomings rather than noticing your growth.

I am a silly low level blue belt, but trust me. You are not “close.”

You have already reached the next level. Own it.

For Seth – you’ve got a great handle on your training and what you need to improve. I would say to focus more on your sweeps and submissions from the guard.

Eddie Bravo has said that Big Guys would have incredible guard games if they spent as much time training that position as they do top positions. I don’t agree with a lot of what Eddie Bravo says but in this case I do.

For Oguni – Hey, don’t disappear from jiu-jitsu even though you’re farther away!

For Mike – Carl’s a good coach. You’ve got a great start in jiu-jitsu already.

For Esteban – it’s strange how things work out, just as you’re coming back to training, I get sidelined. I’m glad you’re back, because I’ve always thought of you being the sole reason Brent and I got to the level we’re at today. You pushed us hard and helped elevate our game beyond just drilling and the occasional sparring.

I know you’ll do the same for everyone while I recover (yet again).

For Brent – work on finishing that choke from the back mount and tighten up your stand-up game. Other than that, you’ll clean up your division easy. Well not super-easy easy. Two or three matches is tough, but you’re more than ready for them. I have that much confidence in you.

For Sam – sucks, but we’ll have to wait that much more longer before we can train together. I’ll still be around, most likely sticking a camera in your face as you’re sparring. But remember when I said that you’ll get your blue before I get my purple. I was right, you know.

Your sweeps are already awesome. You need a little fine tuning when it comes to finishing a few submissions, then with a few more competition wins I will be right.

For practitioners everywhere – if I would be so bold as to offer ridiculously simple advice to everyone who welcomes it; make the most of your time on the mats, be good to your training partners, keep drilling until the Star Trek catch phrase “resistance is futile” becomes your personal truth and, above all, take care of your knees followed by your loved ones.

Other than that, enjoy yourselves, so long and thanks for all the fish!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 6:07 pm

    Oh man!
    Man, man man man.
    So sorry to hear about your knee. What can I say, I guess it wasn’t meant to be this year.
    Who knows… perhaps you are being saved for a worse fate. Perhaps you were destined to have your neck broken in a tournament later in the year, and this saved you from it.
    I always think stupid stuff like that.
    Looks like we are both going through a rough patch at the moment. I can’t afford BJJ so I’m doing irregular judo classes and teaching the odd class, which is very nice, but nowhere near the brief heydey we had before of regular, hard sparring at Paraestra Hakata.
    Hopefully by the time I come to visit early next year you will be back on the mats and we can train.
    In the meantime, I think you would do well to exercise around your injury and develop all other aspects of yourself. Like Martin Rooney says, “WARRIOR WARRIOR WARRIOR WITH A WARRIOR IN WARRIOR BLOOD WARRIOR.”
    Chin up mate!

  2. elemenohpee permalink
    July 31, 2009 9:25 am

    i appreciate the words of support. i still need to work on breaking grips when i have the armbar in place too. it seems that i’m getting to those positions more frequently now, but i can’t finish…
    keep me posted about your knee. i have the next 3 weeks off so let me know if you need help with anything.

    oh yeah, i got a new iphone yesterday and was messing the voice control – and i guess due to my crude hawaiian accent when i said “play kalapana” it called you.

    • August 3, 2009 3:18 pm

      Ha! “Patrick”, “Kalapana”… sounds ’bout the same. Yeah, definitely give you a call, especially now I’m without a car. And lemmie know when you wanna check out Paraestra, I’ll come with.

  3. August 1, 2009 3:25 am

    Hey Patrick, fellow knee-injury-sufferer,

    I am so sorry to hear that you hurt it again. In a pretty literal sense, I feel your pain. I do think you are making the right decision to stay away.

    If you are interested in reporting for us on Japanese BJJ events I know our readers and listeners would be eager for that information. The pay is terrible but it’s rewarding 🙂 lol

    • August 3, 2009 3:10 pm

      That actually popped into my mind actually 🙂 I’ll be in touch.

  4. Sam permalink
    August 1, 2009 1:55 pm

    Pat,

    I’m shocked to hear you hurt your knee again.
    You must be gutted, but you’ll be back, and I’ll be waiting!
    Let’s meet up for dinner with our better halves soon and have a laugh!
    Let me know what the doc says.
    Keep smiling and thanks for the message.
    You can stick your camera in my face whenever you want!

  5. August 1, 2009 8:27 pm

    That’s right, Pat. You need to get working on Grappling Dummies right now man! You are letting the side down!

  6. August 2, 2009 3:44 am

    Damn thats a shame dude, all the best and i hope you have a speedy recovery. The mats will miss your take on blogging.

  7. August 3, 2009 3:25 pm

    @sam
    Yeah… I’m super bummed, we’ll do dinner and film a bunch of stuff. Even though I’m sidelined again I still find myself connected to jiu-jitsu more than ever. Fascinating.

    @matt
    Gah! You’re right! Gah!

    @artofjits
    Thanks, I wanna do everything right this time and fully recover so I don’t do a “Crap, 4 times really sucks” post.

  8. August 5, 2009 7:24 pm

    This might make you chuckle. I wrote it when my foot was injured.

    http://martialfarts.fightlinker.com/?p=432

Leave a Reply

