Skip to content

Jiu-jitsu Comeback – the Plan

November 6, 2009

Every great journey must begin with a simple step. This is mine. My Jiu-jitsu Comeback.

hi-tech
my patented and very high tech method of measuring the range of motion in my knee

After several months of inactivity due to knee surgery, I’ve decided it was time to get back into a regular workout routine – rehab excluded.

Behold! The Majesty!

20 pushups
15 situps
rest
15 situps
rest
7 pullups
TIRED

And that was it. It’s been a couple of days and I’m still sore. Ha!

The plan is this: to keep working out until I get to the same level of fitness I was before surgery. Lots of pushups (50), situps (100) and pullups (six meter rope climb).

For my legs after rehab is done: lots of squats, balance ball work and deadlifts.

After all of that THEN I head back into the the halls of jiu-jitsu, and work on my conditioning and body movement.

NO TECHNIQUE TRAINING OR SPARRING FOR TWO MONTHS AFTER BEGINNING MY CONDITIONING!!

My doctor and physical therapist agree. They’ve set a similiar timeline for me when I’ll be ready to pursue jiu-jitsu again.

As far as my range in motion and mobility in my right knee goes, I can “actively” bend my knee past 140 degree. With a little help, I can bend my knee so my ankle is within one fist away from my butt.

Major props to me – four weeks ago I couldn’t even get anywhere near my butt. Goes to show that with enough drive and determination we can all set out and reach our goals. Even if its simply getting a knee to bend.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2009 1:20 pm

    Yay! Good to hear that you’re making a good recovery, Patrick.

  2. November 7, 2009 4:21 am

    You wrote:

    As far as my range in motion and mobility in my right knee goes, I can “actively” bend my knee past 140 degree. With a little help, I can bend my knee so my ankle is within one fist away from my butt.

    So what happens if you try to force your knee to get closer to your butt? Is it painful? I have the same problem and I worry that there are certain positions – especially butterfly passes where they jam your feet into your butt – where they will squeeze my knee past that comfortable range of motion and it will be painful and might even injure me.

    What do you think? Do you worry about that?

    • November 12, 2009 1:00 pm

      So what happens if you try to force your knee to get closer to your butt? Is it painful?

      Yes, it’s painful. Very much so. Like “make me wanna tapout” painful. In fact, I have during rehab when Aono-san, my Physical Therapist, is shoving my ankle ever closer to my tailbone I’d go: taptaptaptaptaptap! And Aono-san would go: what are you doing? I’d answer: dude, this is exactly how a submission feels like. He’d laugh and attempt to see if he could get a techno beat out of my tapping.

      Actually, I have the same problem with my left knee. Ankle to butt = pain. Been there way before my right knee injury.

      There must be something wrong with me because I’m not really worried about it. I’m planning on taking up yoga – a friend of mine has had knee surgery similar to mine and boy can she put her leg in shocking angles. When I’m feeling fit enough to spar again (read: Marcelo Garcia type legs) – I’m avoiding the butterfly guard as much as possible, people much heavier than me and people who are spazzy to start off.

      Oh, that kind of pain in the knee (painful beyond a certain point of motion) usually means weakened/damaged meniscui or ligaments. My recommendation (and I’m not a physical therapist, so grain of salt here); deep bodyweight squats and proper stretching. Deep tissue massages could help. And use a brace.

      • November 12, 2009 1:04 pm

        Thanks man. I’m recovering from meniscus surgery myself so that’s what is causing my pain.

      • November 17, 2009 12:40 pm

        Matt, thanks and good luck with your recovery too!

  3. November 9, 2009 7:52 pm

    Great to get an update Pat, and kudos on the whole taking it easy thing.
    See you in a few weeks, YAY!

  4. November 13, 2009 1:26 pm

    Pain without fear doesn’t hurt as much. You can put up with a lot of pain if you know it’s ok. I worried to death about my incisions because I thought the pain meant something bad. The doc told me there was nothing I could do to re-injure so now I just ignore it. Weird.

    Good luck

    • November 17, 2009 12:44 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, I thought pain = re-injury too, but that’s not the case.

      Before I used to worry that every single thing I bump into might mess up my recovery… now I’ll bash my knee against the steering wheel and think nothing of it.

Leave a Reply

